We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you travel with a dog”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Room was clean! They accept dogs which is why we chose this Inn. Some tiles around the tub are loose. Very, very basic continental breakfast. The only negative was the wi-fi signal was not strong and. Ouldnotaccess certain web sites. Especially with an ipad

Room Tip: Great if you travel with your dog! Be prepared for a weak wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffinjune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 305 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a very comfortable, conveniently located, moderately priced motel with a great pool area. Couldn't give it excellent only because, well, it's a resort motel, not a 5 Star luxury hotel. If you're a hotel snob this might not be for you. Staff was friendly and efficient at check-in. Fridge and mic in room. Hot shower. Breakfast area can get busy on weekend mornings so get there early to avoid the crowd. Loved the pool with two cabanas. Nice "porch" area in front of rooms was a good hangout for our group. This is our third year and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byersfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you so much for you kind words. As always our staff is eager to make each visit a pleasant and memorable experience for our guests. Because our continental breakfast is so popular, there are already plans to expand the breakfast area. You can expect to see accomodating changes in the very near future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely, Cindy Sheppard, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rodeway Inn is a upscale budget hotel so you'll find attractive accommodations at a great price. This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are have more space than most hotels. Small frig and a microwave to can save a little money on eating. The location is a good mid way location on the island so its not far to go any place on the island. Upon check in we were greated with a smile that lasted thru out our stay. Some hotels on the island are closed in the winter months,This is a place that stays open thru out the year.We were verry happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

What a nice review you gave us...Thank you!
We always strive for excellent customer service!

All our employees are commited to making your stay with us comfortable. We have been known to go "above and beyond" for our guests.

Again, thanks so much....we hope to see you again in the future

Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because they are dog friendly and so did a lot of fellow travelers. The surrounding lawn and private room entrances made it a perfect spot for those traveling with a dog too. They rooms were clean and the staff was super friendly and made sure we had everything we needed after we settled into the room. The wi-fi worked fine, the breakfast was ideal and a step above the average hotel breakfast with hot food provided as well as the normal continental breakfast options. Also the breakfast hours went until 10am which was convenient. For an older hotel in this price range in a beach town, I thought they did a good job and Rodeway...thank you for your dog policy!!..that is smart business!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

First of all thank you for your great comments! Our guests are very important to us and we enjoy providing a comfortable home away from home for you.

Second, you are very welcome. It is our pleasure to welcome your dogs to our hotel! I too, travel with my dogs and always found it difficult to find good hotels that will allow us to stay. And, more and more of us are traveling with our pets!

Again, thank you...I hope we will see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Motel comprised of three two storey blocks with outside access. The fact that it had recently changed its branding from Quality to Rodeway suggested it was a little in decline. Exterior and interior was in need of repair and refurbishment and it had a generally worn appearance - possibly from recent storms, but likely more long-standing. Room 131 was adequate - clean, but shabby - with King bed, TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer and air-con (it also had opening windows - but these had defective insect screens and very stiff opening mechanism) There was guest laundry available, but only one each washer and dryer were serviceable. Other guests tended to congregate on the verandah outside their rooms - both on the ground floor and upstairs - resulting in some noise nuisance. Breakfast room was totally inadequate for the size of the motel (90+ rooms), with only space to seat about 12 persons. Breakfast was just adequate with choice of 2 juices, 2 cereals, waffles, other hot items (eggs?), and pastries. Compared to other hotels visited on this trip (Sep 2011) it was somewhat over-priced - although this may reflect the location on a barrier island.

Room Tip: Arrive early and check out where the motorcycle enthusiasts are staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

We are very sorry you're experience with us was not !00%. If we have known you had any issues we would have been happy to address them. Our gaul is to provide the best service possible!

Unfortunately, due to the many storms we had last fall we did look a bit tired. And again, I wish to apologize for that, but, it was not in our control.

Also, we do have many Motorcycle enthusiast stay with us either in groups or on there own.

As for the size of our breakfast area we have in our plans to update and extend it in the near future, but, in the meantime our guests are always welcome to enjoy breakfast by the pool or take it back to their rooms.

I do want thank you for your comments. Sincerely, Janet Guest Relations, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

While I was home on leave, my girlfriend and I made our way down to Chincoteague. She had never been there before so it was up to me to show her around. The hotel was great! We had only planned to stay for 3 nights but when we decided on a 4th night, the management was more than happy to work with us regarding room rates before the weekend price took effect. Even though we were there in the off season, the hotel was as busy as ever. The breakfast provided had to be the best I'd ever had while staying in a hotel. Needless to say, we'll definitely be returning to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It is so nice to know it is appreciated and noticed; we do try so hard to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you and your Girlfriend again in the future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel itself is ok. The bedding is very comfortable. In fact, I'd like to find out what kind of pillows they use because I want to purchase of couple of them. The pool area was nice--I really like the gazebos for the extra shade that they provide. The location is excellent. The best part was their customer service. Due to a family emergency, my sister and I had to check out a day early to come home and tend to our mother who was taken to the hospital. We explained our predicament to Raj, the desk clerk and he graciously did not charge us for the final night. We didn't even give him 24 hours notice. We figured that they'd charge us anyway. But they didn't. They were incredibly understanding. This seems to be a family-run hotel so perhaps that makes them a bit more understanding than other hotels--I don't know. So thank you Raj, for not charging us the extra night. It made a big difference. Namaste!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

On Raj's behalf I want to thank you for your kind words about his service to you. He is a wonderful employee and we all think very highly of him. We are very forunate that all of our personnel are very helpful and understanding, however, we do seem to be a little more than average. As for our wonderful pillows I fully agree with you. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#15 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#20 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2618 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $54 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn(R) hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing