We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in a pinch”

Don's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Local Favorite Since 1973. Located in the Heart of Downtown Chincoteague. Oysters & Clams on the Half-Shell. Great place for Family Gatherings, Parties,& Meetings
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I visited Chincoteaque Island for a long weekend recently and were looking for a restaurant that served homemade oyster chowder. A man in a local hardware store recommended Don's and so we gave it a shot. The restaurant is a local spot and the service was good and the place nice and clean. The soup was good and service with small bags of oyster crackers. They do have an extensive seafood menu, but on this day the soup fit the bill.

Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are so glad that you were pleased with one of the local favorites! We hope that you will dine with us again and enjoy another meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,026 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hubby & I ate At Don's during our recent visit to Chincoteague. My husband had the Prime Rib, and I had the ham dinner. Let me say...the Prime rib melts in your mouth, and leaves a heavenly taste in your mouth it was so good. The ham dinner was tasty, but I wish I also had gotten the Prime Rib. We both received a very generous size in our meals, and had to pack 1/2 of each up and take back to hotel for later. I would recommend though you make reservations before you go...they had a 45 minute wait. They do have a band that plays upstairs and a bar. Customer service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Many will agree our Prime Rib is a specialty here at Don's. We do have entertainment upstairs in the lounge every weekend! We hope to see you dining with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Townies eat here, so we were attracted to it. Perhaps they were understaffed, but we had extremely indifferent service and waited ages for uncomplicated meals.

Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, but apologize for the trouble you had with the service. We are improving everyday, and hope to see you dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in Chincoteague a few weeks ago and stopped at Don's to order some crabcake sandwiches to go as we were heading to a beach. As soon as we walked in the place smelled very fishy. It's a seafood restaurant, but not in a good way...maybe the kitchen is too close to the door. The service was disinterested, a bunch of kids standing around gazing at their phones, One of the older more experiences servers helped us out and was nice. However, the food was the biggest disappointment: the crab cake sandwiches were flavorless, served on a spongy bun and the cole slaw on the side was soggy and average at best. What a missed opportunity to elevate something so simple into a delicious meal! Based on this experience I would not recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 58Luigi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are very sorry that your take out experience was not satisfactory. Since this review has been posted we have tried to correct and improve the experience for others who place to go orders and hope that you will try our establishment again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nearly all of the seafood dishes are served casserole style in small dishes and at best, average. If you are looking for genuine seafood, this is not the restaurant for you. Our waitress was outstanding. The displays of political sentiments make you feel uncomfortable and unwelcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKM127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are very glad to hear that your service was excellent, and are sorry that you did not enjoy the presentation of our food. As for the flag outside we have our beliefs as do others. We have a strong belief in the Constitution and the 2nd amendment rights. The flag has many meanings and there are certainly many ways you can interpret it. Once again we are very sorry that your experience was not to your satisfactory and will try to improve and ways we are able to.
Thanks again hope you will return and dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Don's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing