We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the negative!”

Don's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local Favorite Since 1973. Located in the Heart of Downtown Chincoteague. Oysters & Clams on the Half-Shell. Great place for Family Gatherings, Parties,& Meetings
Central Virginia
2 reviews
“Don't believe the negative!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are on Chincoteague for our honeymoon. Remnants of TS Karen hit tonight and we were trying to find somewhere for dinner. Read all of the reviews on here and almost decided to not go here... Glad we didn't let the negative reviews deter us! Service was friendly, food was great. Relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Glad the negative reviews didn't sway your decision to dine with us, and we are certainly thrilled we could accommodate you to have a wonderful experience with us despite the nasty weather we were having. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    433
    268
    105
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don's.....an excellent meal!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are looking for casual setting and outstanding seafood, go to Don's! The freshest seafood!! On our recent weekend visit, we liked our first visit so much, we went back a second time before leaving. Absolutely outstanding!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that your dining experience with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you on your next trip!
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipsic, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don's is the complete package!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice casual atmosphere, great crew and amazing seafood! Don's feels like a "locals" place but they are very accommodating of visitors. I can tell you the seafood was amazing. We were on the island three nights and we ate at Don's every night! There wasn't a reason to go anywhere else after our first stop. Don't leave without trying the Seafood Dream and the Clam Chowder. The Seafood Fettuccine was amazing as well. We'll be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2dons, General Manager at Don's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We our so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Chincoteague and also that you chose to dine with us multiple times! The Seafood Dream is an excellent selection. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Don's was very good, I preferred "Bill's" but my husband liked "Don's" more. Would definitely go again. The service was very good. A very large variety of items on the buffet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonfly821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Prices Good Food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had lunch at Don's based on the recommendation of our hotel front desk. They noted that you could also get the lunch portion at dinner time. I had a crab cake and it was very good. All of the seafood prices are around $8 and up on the island. I felt we got good quality food at an affordable price. Wish we had tried the Smith Island Cake. Would recommend this place and you could walk from the Comfort Inn and Hampton Inn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGalOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Don's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing