We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don's Seafood Restaurant

Don's Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Friendly staff. I had the Prime Rib sandwich, a special, which was excellent. My wife enjoyed the baked soft shell crabs, which were also good. Not inexpensive, but good value for the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TK912E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    405
    259
    102
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for dinner on a Friday night. The service was friendly and efficient, but the food was disappointing. We both had flounder, which was overcooked and tasteless. The salad bar was OK but nothing special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great menu, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were chilled and looking for hot seafood chowder! We came across Don's and it was great! I think they called it "fish stew" but whatever the name, it was wonderful. We also had some fish and chips...generous portions and very good. The menu had something for everyone and prices were reasonable. Located on Main St. "downtown." Would go here again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK, but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I shared the crab balls appetizer (one of their signature dishes). It was good, but not great. Probably not worth the price.

My wife ordered the Fisherman's Stew. It is white, with a flour-thickened base. You could see chunks of seafood in the liquid, but they didn't have a lot of flavor.

My wife said that the stuffed shrimp tasted as if they contained a preservative. I didn't taste that. The stuffing itself was good but not very flavorful. The greens that came with it were very good.

The clam chowder is available in either red (Manhattan) or white (New England) versions. I ordered the red version, which - again - was good but not great. It tasted as if it contained an ingredient that isn't usually in chowder. I think that it might have been turnips, but that's just a guess.

The absolute best part of either meal was my broiled scallops. They were very good, and tasted as if they were really fresh from the boat. If you like scallops, this is the dish to order here. The mac & cheese that came with it was nothing special. It tasted like anything that comes out of the frozen food case at the supermarket.

The seafood entrees come with both (red) cocktail sauce, and (white) tartar sauce. Both were good.

As for the salad bar, the spinach & mixed greens were nice and fresh, but the nasty salad dressings hid the freshness and taste of the greens. The dressings come in four "flavors" - fluorescent red, bright orange, gold and white - pretty sad! You are limited to one trip to the salad bar, but because of the terrible dressings that wasn't a problem.

The bread pudding for dessert was gummy, and not especially tasty. I have had much better.

The service staff is friendly, and just efficient enough.

The overall level of the restaurant food in Chincoteague is not the highest. Don's should be considered average for Chincoteague, but it would be below average in other areas that are known for their restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PokeYerNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great seafood at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate here several times and enjoyed the all you could eat salad bar and scrumptious peel and eat shrimp. Staff were always friendly and efficient. A great place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Don's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing