We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Deal Island, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you are looking to kick back and relax, this is the place. The hosts, Basia and John, are most accommodating and make you feel right at home. The atmosphere is laid back, with the water side docks boasting Tiki huts, island music, grill, table and chairs. We meandered out on the dock with our cocktails and sat down at one of the huts with several other couples and had wonderful conversation. You can kick back and go crabbing / fishing right off the dock or rent a boat and take to the water. The cottage was tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. The view of Assateague Island is breath taking...you can even see the wild ponies across the bay. You wouldn't even have to leave snug harbor, but if you do, you can go across the bridge to Assateague Island and enjoy the ocean beaches, bike the many trails or explore the wildlife. If you like quaint little shops and dining out, there is plenty in the town of Chincoteague. We tried Woody's BBQ and had the best BBQ sandwiches ever. Cannot wait to go back!!! Thanks Basia and John....See You Soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    35
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
92
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

By first glance at snug harbors reviews, you would begin to think that snug harbor is ethier excellent or terrible. Let me be the first to REALLY tell you by first hand experience, that snug harbor has progressed since the terrible reviews were written, and if not the best place on the whole eastern shore, to kick back, relax, and live life as if it were a dream, controlled by thoughts of positivity and overwhelming joy, is only the least I can say about this small business.
When you first arrive, you hear a tropical music playing in the backround as if it were almost following you, with every step you take on the sand, while simultaneously seeing a tropical sight, you automatically forget the word replicated, and remember the words from your childhood to descirbe such a sight filled with the love of both chincoteague and assateague from the views. Chincoteague is one of the best places to stay if you are looking for that one vaction to remember all of your life, to build character, and to leave a spectacular impression, then stop now and make a right on east side drive. With the palm trees showing, sea glowing, light house sight, seafood night, Snug harbor is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reneej1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a great little cabin that will remind you of summer camp. This it. Crabbing, fishing, right on the water facing the lighthouse. One of my favorite getaways.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here in August for two nights and had a terrific time. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable, and the staff was wonderful. The best part was relaxing with cocktails in the evening and watching the night sky. The cabins are older, but well-kept and very clean. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leighbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

My family spent the whole week at Snug Harbor. We were celebrating our family reunion and we have to say that Snug Harbor and the island was just perfect choice for our gathering! We were able to book all the cottages (we booked it a year ahead) and have the whole place for ourselves. The view from the marina was just amazing .Wild ponies running free across the channel, iiki huts, sand, palms, beautiful sunsets...There was a constant breeze and we sat at the marina for hours talking, laughing and having a great time. The cottages were nice and comfortable and the staff was friendly and warm. Basia and John were very accommodating and really made our reunion a memorable one! We also rented boats and experienced the beauty of Chincoteague and Asseteague from the water. It was a lot of fun and we would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Chincotegaue. The people on the island were also very friendly. Overall, our stay at Snug Harbor was amazing. When we left we really felt we found a place to relax from the stress of the world, and we can't wait for the next time to go back to Snug Harbor.

Room Tip: Some cottages are connected , some free standing, you may want to specify which one you would rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We are horses lovers so we couldn't wait to go to Chincoteague for the famous
Pony Swim. We have always wanted to go to Misty's home :) We picked Snug Harbor
for the place to stay, cause they were right on the water, they had great
reviews and the cottage had a kitchen so we were able to cook our meals and save
a lot of money. We were so shocked when we got there and we realize we are right
by the actual Pony Swim! Like a minute away. What a location! We couldn't pick
better spot. We were so excited! What's more they also have a marina with boats
and kayaks so we rented a few, paddled for about a minute to the Swim spot and
we were so close to the ponies that I couldn't believe it. They swam the ponies
from Chincoteague to Asseateague right in front of us and I was able to take o
lot of great pictures and kids were more than happy. It was worth every penny we
spent. We drove all over the island afterwords and Snug Harbor has definitely
the best location, no doubt. If we are lucky enough to do it again we will
definitely stay at Snug Harbor cottages. The whole Pony Swim experience and Snug
Harbor will stay in our memories forever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Crabbing, fishing, & fun. Cabins overlooking the bay & a lighthouse view.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages

Property: Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Address: 7536 Eastside Rd, P.O. Box 498, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Marina is a very quint and unique island resort which offers waterfront accommodations ( waterfront cottages with kitchens)as well as motor boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, stand up paddle boards and guided boat and kayak eco tours, Pony Tours, nature tours around the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel
Snug Harbor Marina Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing