We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My stay at this Days Inn was not terrible, but it wasn't anything spectacular. Our room was quite small, but clean. No bed bugs so that's a plus. Also yes, they have a hot breakfast but it left a lot to be desired. There was a very small selection of hot foods and they were all MICROWAVED, I don't know if this is how other chains do it, but if they do, at least they don't let you now about it. Also we stayed on the bottom floor and it was very noisy, from both the people above us as well as the fact that there were birds that had taken up nesting in the a/c unit. The location was great however, very close to Assateague, and the free Wi-Fi was nice as well. Not really a nice hotel for just relaxing in your room at night, far too small for that. If you want a better stay for not too much more money you are far better off staying at the Best Western right down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rgemperline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments.

I am sorry you were a little less than 100% satisfied with our breakfast... The Days Inn brand usually just gives a continental breakfast, we, however, have chosen to offer a free hot breakfast to our guests. All the foods we serve are the same items as any other hotel that does not have a restaurant on the premises.

I also wish to apologize for the birds that took up residency outside your room in the bushes...if we had known they were an issue we would have gladly moved to another room.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope that we will see you agin

Sincerely
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 569 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had a great stay at days inn in Chincoteague Island. They had an hot and cold breakfast every morning. The cleaning of the inn was overall good. The Inn had a pool and a small playground for small kids and it also had live ponies. It was in a great location to all restaurants and gift shops. Midway between the island and the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank victoria y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us for your weekend-getaway!!! AND you enjoyed our breakfast !!

Thank you for this great review! It is very appreciated!!

We look forward to your return stay with us!!

Sincerely,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Let me start my review by saying as the title indicates, we stayed at Days Inn for one night. We paid less than half of what the other hotels were asking. So for that reason alone I would stay there again for another one night stay and rated it average.I would have given it 2 1/2 stars if I could have.
I would not stay there longer as I feel the other hotels offer more amenities and nicer accommodation and would pay the higher price.

Having said all that, here is my critique. The room is small. They try to fill it with what you would want/need (table, 2 over sized chairs, bed,1 dresser, refrigerator & microwave.) However, the chairs are too low to be used at the table and there is really no room to move the chairs out and use them. If you enjoy relaxing in front of the tv and have become accustom to a flat screen or at least a very large screen then you will be disappointed. An old fashion "box" tv is what is provided.
The lighting is poor especially to apply make up. Gives off a yellow hue and not bright. There was no blow dryer in the room but you could get one from the front desk. The comforter on the bed was THICK & heavy. Interesting choice for a beach resort. Too hot for us even on a rainy,mid 60's night. There was also plastic on the mattress. Not a plastic mattress cover, but actual plastic. Like they forgot to remove it when it was delivered. It made a lot of noise every time you turned over. The bed itself was very firm. Too firm for me, but thats just me.

This hotel use to be the Blue Heron. It seems that they slapped on a coat of new paint and changed the name but didnt renovate the property. There is no mention on the website or in the hotel that its a "work in progress" so I think it is what it is. In our room it looked like someone had hit the wall from outside and it had buckled inwards. It didn't effect anything but was noticeable. (Freshly painted over) There was a dry wall patch in the bathroom that was left unpainted. The bathroom door was warped to the point that it wouldnt close. But the BIGGEST concern/complaint was that while I was showering my boyfriend was shaving in the bathroom sink and turned on the water. The water that came out of the shower turned scolding!! Immediately. No warning by staff or in room that this could happen. Very dangerous! The paper products, kleenex and tp, were not of high quality. Very rough. Especially to an allergy affected nose.

A breakfast is included with the room. Its quite extensive, scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, biscuits, cereal,waffles, danish, bagels and coffee. That is if you can get someone to fill them. It didnt seem that there was one person in charge of making sure that everything was refilled. You had to ask. That includes the coffee. And then those biscuits, they were hard rocks. They didnt feel frozen but were as hard as if they were. The girl just put them in the bin so I dont know how to explain that.

If you are looking for a one night stay, and then continue to offer this low, low price then I would give Days Inn a try. Maybe our room was an exception. But if you plan on spending alot of time in your room or are there for a week, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTraveledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel! And, I do thank you for all your comments.... As with any hotel...we are continually up dating & changing! We just became a Days Inn the beginning of April and all the planned changes take a little bit of time....

As for the lack of breakfast attendant; she called off sick just before the start of breakfast,

The duvets are a light weight transitional...they keep you warm in the winter and cool in the summer...

AND...May I say....we have never had a water pressure problem like the one you described!!! I spoke to you several times during your stay and you never mentioned any problems! I do have to wonder about that....

Again, I am sorry you seemed to have all these issues...if we had known about any of them at any point during your stay..... they could have been addressed immediately!

Sincerely
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

One of the closest hotels to the Ocean/beach and National Wildlife Refuge of Assateague Island. Cleaning staff was not super prompt nor did they seem to always vacuum. The pool wasn't heated and did not seem the cleanest. Breakfast was fairly good with a wide variety of choices. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: No balconies as the website said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review... We do appreciate all comments....

Since our the pool is seasonal, I would like to remind you the pool was not open when you were here last week..

HOWEVER, the pool did open today, 17 May 2013, for the season ... the pool is normally open from just before Memorial Day to the end of September weather permitting!!

Again, thank you ...we are happy you were satisfied with your stay in general and look forward to your return

Sincerely,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everyone from the manager to the maid were always friendly and helpful. Always asking if everything was OK. Rooms are very spacious and extremely clean. Hot breakfast every morning. Not just Donuts & Coffee. The aroma of Fresh Belgium Waffles fills the hallways. Entire motel inside & out is very well maintained. Motel is within walking distance of many restaurants, stores and Assateague Island. This was our 4th stay here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

You have made us blush with excitement over this review!!!

We are truly happy when all of our guests are happy!!!

You (our guests) are our number one priority… and providing a warm, welcoming and clean atmosphere is tops with us!

Thanks again…….We hope we will see you again soon

Sincerely,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our one night stay at the Days Inn in Chincoteague Island was pleasant and relaxing. After traveling from Nags Head on the Outer Banks, we decided to head for Chincoteague Island instead of going through the DC juggernaut of traffic. What a great choice this was! An unspoiled island town with a beach (Assateague Island) to rival any beach on the Atlantic coast. Our accommodations were superb with the best breakfast of our weeklong business/vacation. Best of all were the staff with their welcoming attitude and friendly demeanor. We're coming again when the water is warmer.

Paul and Felicia Weinberg

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! What a wonderful review!!!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and our little Island! AND, we look forward to you returning soon...

Thanks again

Sincerely,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Friendly, clean, quiet and nice warm breakfast. Great visit! Great location near the Wildlife refuge! Bring your bikes! Only disappointment was the advertised heated pool open year round...wasn't open year round:(

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brigid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for mentioning our wonderful HOT breakfast…we are very pleased that we are able to provide our guests with a great on-site meal to start your day!

I am sorry you were disappointed that our pool is a seasonal pool… since it is an outdoor pool it is unfortunitle4y not feasible to keep it open all year long…

However, we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise.

Again, thank you.... we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Address: 7020 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $60 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing