We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family of four booked two nights very last minute and Barbara and David couldn't have been more accommodating. Now, if only the weather would have been cooperative, but we still had a great time overall, despite the rain. We usually vacation at the beach in Lewes, but wanted to try something different and we ended up falling in love w/ the small-town feel of Chincoteague. You can ride your bikes/walk everywhere - it's the laid-back beach town we were searching for. We scheduled afternoon tea and enjoyed that immensely - even our little ones wanted to know if we could have afternoon tea again the next day. The breakfasts were outstanding and we skipped lunch both days because we were so full from our wonderful breakfast. The housekeeper (Bea) was incredibly sweet and took care of everything, telling us not to worry about anything. They provided bikes, beach towels and everything else you would need for a day at the beach. Barbara made kayaking arrangements for us at Snug Harbor. The beds were very comfortable, the room and bath was very clean and the linens were luxurious. It's amazing how close you are to the shopping and restaurants and how incredibly quiet the rooms are - we slept so good. We enjoyed sitting w/ others at breakfast and meeting new people. We actually stayed around to chat w/ the other families staying at the inn after our breakfast was over and Barbara joined us. The day we left, Barbara and David saw us off - just like your parents waiving you off from the front door. I much prefer a B&B over a hotel - the atmosphere was divine and so welcoming and comfortable. We will be back again - thanks for a fabulous stay at your charming inn!
P.S. Everyone says about the terrible mosquitos @ Chincoteague - didn't get bit once until we headed to the 2nd leg of our journey in Baltimore - got bit there several times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife, son, and I just returned from July 4th weekend at the Channel Bass Inn. It was our first trip to Chincoteague Island and we had mixed anticipation: excited to be on the ocean in a town that looked untouched by immense crowds and mega-development, but also concerned with reports of roving bands of mosquitoes ready to pick us apart at a moment's notice. Part of what sufficiently allayed our concerns were the extremely positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

So, the B&B is pretty perfect. Barbara and David are most inviting hosts. We arrived in time for high tea on the first day and each course was extremely well-prepared (the crab quiche stands out for Barbara's remarkable execution of a dish that was not creamy and that contained more crab per square inch than we have ever encountered). We stayed in a larger room on the third floor of the house, two flights up. There is no bellhop and while David offered to help, it really wasn't required. The room and general decor of the place seems dated, but not in an off-putting way. For me, having grown up watching the BBC, it felt nostalgic. The room, while also not modern, contained a very effective air conditioning unit, was bug-free (to my wife's delight), and easily accommodated us in a king size bed and my son in a cot.

Each morning we awoke to a multi-course 9 AM breakfast, which was also very well-prepared and delicious. Barbara and David were very good about making introductions at each table and were thoughtful about seating arrangements. Given that Chincoteague is a small place, we began seeing our fellow guests at dinner in restaurants and breakfast became a place to share notes (most prominently, the sage advice to take the boat to the sandbar for a sublime beach experience).

In sum, this B&B does not try to look like a Starck-designed postmodern hotel - it is homey and comfortable and it is rare in my extensive traveling to encounter more dedicated, talented innkeepers than Barbara and David. I should include that everything needed for the beach is freely available, including chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, sunscreen, etc.

We will definitely return to Chincoteague and will only stay at Channel Bass Inn.

PS: We did not see a single mosquito in four days on the island.

Room Tip: We rather liked our room because it was furthest from the entrance and facing the back garden and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msginthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Channel Bass Inn for three nights in June 2013 and I enjoyed it more than any other B&B I've been to--majorly due to the expert care of Barbara, our hostess extraordinaire. She planned the seating at breakfast and knew how to put people with others they'd like to talk with. The breakfasts were multi-course and absolutely delicious. We also attended the multi-course afternoon tea and were thankful we did: it included the best black tea I've ever tasted (Barbara, who is British, gets it from Sainsbury's), along with gourmet sandwiches, homemade scones, and yummy desserts, all beautifully served. We stayed in the Wharfedale room on the third floor, from which we could glimpse the water. That room's bed is a little tight to get into on one side, but well worth it for a couple who wants to stay in this lovely home in a less expensive room. The Channel Bass also supplies items for trips to the beach (like towels and chairs), so you need bring only your swimsuit.

Room Tip: I think we had the smallest room, the Wharfedale, on the 3rd floor. We peeked into several of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipjeanloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ride the bikes everywhere you want to go, stroll the streets, shop the local fares, visit the farmers market on Wednesday & Saturdays mornings early, eat at Bills Seafood, ask for Lisa as your server, eat donuts at Sugarbakers, build sandcastles...but always stay here!
After researching an area I had not been since a very young child, the wonderful sea salt smells welcomed us to this quaint, quiet town in early June. Peaceful, clean, comfortable only begin to describe the home that David & Barbara welcome you into. Then there's breakfast and afternoon tea. Don't worry if you forgot an item...they always have it, or know where to acquire it. What a treat this amazing gem the inn and owners really are. All we can say is, "we'll be back and if you chose another location other than the Channel Bass Inn....."We're sorry to say, you made a mistake!

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the back side of the home during busy tourist season (July-August) for the ut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l8klife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My now fiancee and I had an absolutely wonderful time at the Channel Bass Inn - one of the best places I've ever stayed at. We spent two nights in the spacious Topcliffe room. The food was fantastic, and the afternoon tea, with its variety of delicious scones to choose from, is not to be missed. Barbara and David were excellent innkeepers and overall awesome people - they made our stay in Chincoteague extra special, going out of their way to make sure the weekend, which featured a proposal, was perfect. Whenever we vacation at Chincoteague, we'll be sure to stay at Channel Bass!

Room Tip: Topcliffe was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Channel Bass Inn this past weekend for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful experience - the rooms, the food and the friendliness and graciousness of the Innkeepers, David and Barbara. We were welcomed like family and made to feel right at home. The hospitality was great. The food was out of this world, especially the afternoon tea on Saturday afternoon. And the breakfasts were to die for. We had the first floor suite and it was very comfortable and roomy. The historic house is filled with wonderful antiques and has a very relaxing garden, along with lots of baby ducks! It is in the historic area of Chincoteague Island, VA. We will definitely go back sometime in the future, now that we know how great it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Channel Bass Inn. Barbara and David are truly wonderful people to speak with and welcomed us like family. The breakfast and afternoon tea are extremely good and leave you full for most of the day. I highly recommend this place if you want a relaxing, comfortable trip and a chance to meet great people. Also, they provided bikes, beach umbrellas and binoculars to borrow while there. Such a great deal for the money!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing