We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B, wont be the last!”
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

WOW! Great hospitality and a very well taken care of property. This was our first trip to a B&B and although we were apprehensive of a "shared house" we were pleasantly surprised by how private the house seemed. The house is right in the middle of the island and the location was very convenient to both the quiet north side and the southern side with many small shoppes. Barbara and David were exceptional hosts and went so far as to make dinner reservations for us our second night there. They went above and beyond in ensuring our stay was a wonderful time from dawn to dusk! The garden is beautiful with resident ducks and we will most certainly stay again! Oh, and don't pass on the Tea!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wensleydale room and enjoyed the reading chairs. The King bed was super comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

David & Barbara are wonderful innkeepers and hosts! From the warm, personal welcome at arrival to interest in menu preferences and favorites to reluctant departures, we enjoyed a comfortable, peaceful stay on the island with them. Breakfast was always sumptuous, beyond filling, and always interesting conversation w/ fellow guests. Location was great, as we were intent on walking, biking, or using the trolley to get around - left the car parked for the entire week. The Channel Bass Inn met all our expectations to get away from the rush of DC life, and enjoy the slower pace of Chincoteague. Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a couple of days at the Channel Bass Inn in June 2012 and were delighted by the wonderful hospitality of our hosts Barbara and David. Our room was clean and comfortable. The food was wonderful. Don't miss the afternoon "Tea" featuring Barbara's famous scones and many other delightful goodies. You can skip dinner after filling up there. The location is great with off-street parking in the back. We brought our own bikes, but there were bikes and other stuff to borrow if needed. The town is small and quite a few restaurants are within easy walking distance of the inn. We will definitely return to this B&B whenever we need an "Eastern Shore" break. Thanks Barbara and David!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxmans85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Channel Bass Inn this past weekend, and our experience couldn't have been better. David and Barbara were delightful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted or needed. My wife, a non-coffee/tea drinker, was offered a generous mug of hot chocolate (which she said was delicious) for breakfast and afternoon tea.

Be sure to partake of the afternoon tea service, and come hungry... Barbara's scones were the best we've ever eaten, and the event will definitely act as a substitute for dinner that evening!

Two bonuses about the location is that there is ample free parking right behind the Channel Bass Inn, and you're right in the downtown shopping/dining area. Aside from our visit to the beach at Assateague, we were able to basically keep our car "parked" all weekend long. It's a very walkable area.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Channel Bass Inn for anyone planning to stay at a B&B in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ks21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Barbara and David are warm and attentive hosts at the Channel Bass Inn. I was so relaxed by the experience and touched by their sincerity that I was teary at our parting.

Our room was meticulously clean (how do the housekeepers erase all the evidence of beach sand!?), the bed was comfortable, and the decor elegant without being fussy. The bed was double sheeted with high thread-count sheets. While there were a few times when the shower's temperature was a little tricky in our particular room, the bathroom came with a full tub and had plenty of space for two people to share a bathroom. There was a sense of privacy and calm, and I couldn't hear any of the other guests even though there was a full house of them over the weekend.

At the Channel Bath you feel as if you are staying with family who is kind enough to lend you all of their beach-going paraphernalia so you don't have to schlep it hundreds of miles from your home or buy it at Chincoteague. It's all neatly stacked in a side room. Barbara made sure we had towels, a beach umbrella, and a cooler with water bottles.

The real treat was the cuisine. Barbara oversaw three course breakfasts that included items such as fruit salads with berries and fresh mango, various breads such as ginger & zucchini, and fluffy herbed eggs with toasted croissants.

If you get a chance be sure to reserve a space at an afternoon tea. Also, be sure to go with an empty stomach because there are FOUR courses of sandwiches and pastries- all made in-house with a deft baker's hand. It's nearly a two-hour experience.

I appreciated that guests' food preferences and allergies were addressed without a hitch. During tea my partner tucked in to smoked salmon sandwiches since she didn't eat the traditional ham sandwiches, and I saw Barbara accommodate the gluten allergy of another guest without batting an eye.

The one thing that always makes me a little nervous at B&B's is making conversation with other guests at breakfast, especially when it's a longer, multi-course meal. Luckily I didn't need to worry about this at the Channel Bass. Barbara is such an outgoing and witty host that soon you are talking with everyone else at the table. You'll learn a bit about proper table manners, but you will also laugh at a bawdy reference here and there as Barbara dips in and out of the conversation with her schtick. She will tell you all you want to know about the ponies and their foals at the Pony Swim week, but she might also make a joke about doing a strip tease out of her apron. "At the end I won't be wearing my apron" she dryly remarked.

So, if you're in for a bit of loopy fun, you love good food, and your want a quiet retreat near the beautiful Wildlife Refuge and beach, head to the Channel Bass.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCHoosierGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The house is well maintained and in a great location. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. We have a toddler, and Barbara helped us with our milk warming needs and made special breakfasts suited to her. Breakfasts were delicious, though sometimes a bit on the salty side. Her crab quiche, though, was one of the best crab recipes I've had. If you stay, I also highly recommend the English Tea. Barbara's scones were fabulous.
They also stock everything you will need while there including bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, suntan lotion and DEET (highly recommended for hikes in Assateague). Barbara and David pay exacting attention to detail.

Room Tip: We liked the suite with our daughter. It gave us some privacy and allowed our daughter to sleep more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nondescript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for a few nights and it was wonderful. Barbara and David were so nice and helpful. They made us feel welcome and helped make our trip sucessfull. Breakfast was extremely good both mornings, I wish we had stayed long enough to try the afternoon tea. The location is great, close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing