We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buy your own frozen food and reheat it at home.”

P.T. Pelican's Intercoastal Deck Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buy your own frozen food and reheat it at home.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Seafood platter--bland (at best), comes frozen from a box.

Delmonico Steak--warmed over gristle.

Hush puppies--dry and dense. Were these stripped-mined in Texas?

Hot dog for one of the kids--ran out. (Probably the best option, after trying the rest of the choices.)

Ambiance--Sticky tabletop, ceiling fan bulb burned out (make it tough to read the menu), family seated next to the raucous, smoky bar.

Music--The guitar player was decent, but should invest in a vocalist who can carry a tune. Was he trying to sound that bad? His break came too late and lasted too briefly.

Value--extremely over-priced.

I neglected to read the reviews before I went. When there are more one star reviews than anything else, stop to wonder how many of those would be zeros if that were an option. Mine would be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    18
    20
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Horrible service, horrible $30 buffet, horrible steamed shrimp, raw hamburger....... We had a party of 7 so 18% gratuity was automatically added. I guess that means waitress and kitchen can do their worst and still get a tip. The ones in our party that ordered buffet were almost done eating before ordered meals arrived. Total waste of over $120 !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nuge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Not worth it!"”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I recently had dinner here. We ordered the buffet. Our waitress was "ok" it was very busy. We had to wait for utensils before we could eat our food. The food wasn't bad, but it's wasn't worth the price we paid either. The inside bartender was friendly and so was the hostess. I don't think we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Food was very good and lots of it.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the food here and our waitress was fast and efficient. We left here stuffed. The view is beautiful on the water. The building though is in rough shape--either needs a lot of renovation or just to be torn down. Also, for such good food, it came on quite a collection of cheap, mismatched plates, plastic cups, horrible dinnerware. All I could think of was it could have come from a thrift store? Despite that, this was the best meal we had the week we spent in Chincoteague.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myersj125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“dinner was ...good”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

NIce view from this restaurant of the water. We went for dinner. tHe food was very good with good portions. i had scallops dinner. My husband had chicken dinner. I was considering the seafood buffet. But trythfully it was not worth the $29. oVerall we were full when we left and we were happy. We couldnt even get the ice cream we wanted

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geronurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.T. Pelican's Intercoastal Deck Bar also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing