We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, fair prices!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AJ's on the Creek

AJ's on the Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For generations, the folks at AJ's have been passing down delicious seafood recipes from parent to child. We specialize in historically great seafood.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fair prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff. We had steaks that were accompanied by a seafood side, salad and baked potato- all with a bottle of wine for less than $100. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rva1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    207
    96
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good - Glad we selected this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Service was great. Food was great. The Ahi Tuna appetizer was fabulous. We selected pasta dishes for dinner. The price was reasonable. Fettuccine with meatballs and meat sauce, and Fettuccine with shrimp and marinara sauce and we were pleased. Portions were large and we took some back to our hotel. Ken was our waiter and if you go, ask for him. He was efficient, friendly without being overbearing. We would recommend this restaurant and we would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PopandGe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Was on a "Me" vacation and spent 2 nights at Chincoteague, VA. I wanted to spoil myself with a seafood meal on my last night there and A.J's was highly recommended. I had a wonderful seafood pasta meal and everyone from the hostess to my waitress was cheerful and friendly. I accidentally left my credit card behind after the meal and didn't realize it until the next day as I was leaving the island. A.J.s had it in a safe, secure place so I could lay claim to it. If you want to have a wonderful meal, I highly recommend this restaurant and plan on going back in the Fall!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
273 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good In A Pinch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were not greeted promptly upon arrival - in fact we probably waited three or four minutes before anyone came to seat us. No server came for a bit and then when she did come she said she didn't know we were there and asked who had seated us? We proceeded to order and our server did bring our drinks promptly and started our service. The Cream of Crab soup was good but, would have benefited greatly from a splash of sherry. The salads were, well there is only one way to say it, awful. They looked wilted, because they were, and tasted awful. Salads should be served very cold and these clearly had been sitting on a counter and not refrigerated. We decided on the "Appetizers for Two" -there was more than enough food for both of us and the price was very reasonable. The grilled vegetable platter, clams casino and steamed shrimp were all good. The menus were dirty and could stand a good wiping down - that was a turn off for me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“For locals and tourists alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to aj's twice, lunch and dinner. Had a fabulous salmon for lunch and at the bar for dinner, fried oysters. Both times we were served by Tina who really knows how to take care of her customers. The bar was full of locals who really were fun to be with. Would love to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judyk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's on the Creek also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to AJ's on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing