We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and depressing”
Review of Chincoteague Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chincoteague Inn
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I should have known better- it was the only hotel with rooms still available for a last minute trip to Chincoteague. The hotel is run down, the guest rooms dirty and falling apart. It's the type of place you are afraid to let your bare feet touch the carpet and wish you didn't have to sleep in the beds. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trippingcoasttocoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is old and does need updating but it is very clean,staff friendly,great rates and location is great. You can walk to several stores and eateries. The beach is 3 minutes away and down town is 1 minute away. If you dont want to spend alot on a room and want to spend your money having fun,then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondeyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all the picture of this hotel is not what this hotel actually looks like. The hotel staff was friendly and helped to fix our broken lamp fast. It does seam the staff or owners are not organized when it comes to running things. example they do offer coffee in the mornings however dont have sugar or any plans to get any.( there is a dollar store with in sight).i do wish the staff had matching shirts or are at least identified as hotel workers.This hotel is close walking distance to food and shopping. . we had to stay on the ground floor because there is no elevator here. There was a crack in our door,room smelled musty and needs to be updated from the 60s. They advertise a microwave in the room however there is no electric plug in for it. no hair dryer provided. refridgerator was extra small.I will say the bed was comfortable and bed bug free. pool is nice

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This motel leaves a lot to be desired. The room we stayed in had a strong musty smell, mold on the ceiling and many dark stains on the walls. The two chairs were so stained and dirty that I wouldn't let my children sit on them. My girls did love the pool, but showering afterward was tricky, as the water would randomly fluctuate from warm to scalding. On the plus side, this Inn has a great location, in walking distance to many great restaurants and activities. Overall I would not recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Happyvacationer420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here during a recent visit to Chincoteague. This is an old hotel, but it provides the basics: comfortable bed and pillows, a microwave, toaster oven and mini fridge, and daily maid service which keeps things smelling and looking clean. There is no safe in the room for any expensive items, but the doors locked up just fine.

This place is old...keep that in mind! I was situated on the first floor, and could hear the squeaking of the floorboards above me with every step. I could imaging that during the summer this place could get pretty busy and loud with people walking by your room, but that really is the risk you'd take with any hotel experience.

The front desk staff were very polite, and although they were selling their Mary Kay products on the counter -- this seemed to imply this was a family / locally run place.

The only thing that I didn't like was their reservation and payment policy. You have to make a one day deposit (almost non refundable) and pay for the entire reservation upon your arrival. I don't think they make exceptions, so if you don't like what you get, you don't get your money back if you leave.

Room Tip: The room I had on the first floor seemed to have a very warped and squeaky floor, you can hear foots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I spent two weeks at this place during one of my many adventures. It offers basic lodging at a reasonable price. There are three floors and no elevator. Please keep this in mind.
There was a takeout seafood place accross the street that offered very freshly caught fish and crustaceans.
The NASA base at Wallops Island is a ten minute drive from the hotel.

This is a nice place to stay while going to the beach or to just relax for a while.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElGavatcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Met my sister and family last minute on the island. Was a little worried about my stay there after reading some of the reviews but it was the cheapest place on the island. When I arrived I loved the rustic feel of the place and the staff was great. I had a remodeled room and it was perfect. Great location in this great little town. Short drive or bike ride to the beach which is natural and undeveloped. Great weekend trip and great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthbisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#20 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chincoteague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chincoteague Inn

Address: 4417 Deep Hole Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $56 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chincoteague Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 70 unit motel, just minutes away from the Assateague Island Beach and Wildlife Refuge, the Inn is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the solitude and the breathtaking sunsets our Island has to offer.Conveniently located at Maddox Blvd. and Deep Hole Road, the Inn is within walking distance of many art galleries, restaurants, shops and the Civic Center. For those that desire a little adventure, deep sea fishing charters are available or take off on a bicycling excursion on one of the many trails available on the Chincoteague and Assateague Islands.We offer modern, spacious, extremely clean accommodations, daily maid service, complimentary coffee and a selection of newspapers.Be our guest as you enjoy our outdoor pool with large surrounding deck & gazebo. A screened pavilion equipped with cooking facilities will accommodate most any gathering, large or small. For those wanting to picnic, we have barbeque grills available as well as a volleyball court. There is ample parking for cars and a designated area for boats and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chincoteague Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing