We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO happy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli

Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Soups, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: CURRENT HOURS: Grocery open daily 11-6; Deli open for lunch Wed-Sun 11-3 Eat healthy... Or not! It's your choice at Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli. We specialize in delicious food and great service. We roast our own turkey and roast beef in the deli, and make all our soups, sides, dressings, and much more. Also, our deli is veggie-friendly and has several gluten-free options. The grocery has a great selection of gluten-free, organic, and vegetarian products, as well as wonderful cheeses, snacks, chocolate, coffee, bread, craft beer and affordable tasty wines.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“SO happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have to eat gluten-free, which can be a big bummer when I'm out of town and not sure where I can eat safely. I saw others' reviews of Poseiden's Pantry and noticed the gluten free mentions, so we tried it for lunch on our second day in town. The house made pimento cheese (+ I added bacon and tomato relish) toasted on gluten free bread was INCREDIBLE! So, naturally, we went back again the next day. Ham + brie + apple chutney on the second visit was again a hit, but I was wishing I'd gone with pimento cheese again just because it was too good to only have once. Yum! Just go . . .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect source for carpet picnics. They stock brilliant goodies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Going to Chincoteague off-season led to some disappointments, with restaurants closed.

We stopped at Poseidon's for dinner fair over the weekend. It was past closing time, but another customer was still in the store so we were in luck. I think we stayed a half hour! The owners are friendly foodies. We bought a rustic sourdough-esque loaf, more stuff and my happy "score" was they stock some Tillamook cheese!
We walked out with some insight about the island and two bags of food for a delicious carpet picnic. Back at our inn, we discovered how much in the fridge contents looked to be directly from Poseidon's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LLArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
23336
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Alleluia Foodie Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Chincoteague is fortunate to have this addition. The groceries are great. The sandwiches and soups exceptional. The chili is remarkable. The atmosphere squeaky clean. Service fast even when packed. The folks here are pleasant. My only complaint? They are too small. Expand and carry more products PLEASE?! This is a new addition to Chincoteague. Grab a sandwich and a micro brew or chili and a dry cucumber soda. They have fresh baked bread, cheese mongrel quality cheese and delicious desserts. Yummy!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Loved the pimento cheese sandwich! If I return to Chincoteague, I will have every lunch there....I'd like to try all there sandwiches and soups. The shop has some very unique gourmet items. I especially enjoyed the friendly service....how nice to order a sandwich and be told upfront that the sandwich would take 10 minutes because they had to heat the grill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anniehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Little Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

It's so nice to find a place open this time of year with really great sandwiches. We stopped in for a picnic lunch and were very happy with the choices and service. The French Onion panini was delicious and they carry Route 11chips, made in Mt. Jackson, VA. Definitely can recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing