We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special At All”

Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family oriented diner featuring a full menu. We serve breakfast (all day) lunch and dinner and late night treats. Economically priced we feature a wide selection of omlets, waffles, pancakes and other breakfast specialties. Our entrees include a selection of seafood, Italian dishes and hearty diner classics. Kids are welcome and there are specials for them for breakfast and all meals. Be sure and check out our cakes, desserts, rice pudding and other desserts!
Benson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special At All”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Canned & Frozen food, loud dining area, nice wait staff for very mediocre food at island prices. Used to be a great restaurant with truly good food - mourning the change of ownership or whatever brought the place down to this level.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    151
    93
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The kids liked it.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food is good and well-priced. The service is OK. It was a good place to take the kids, but I wouldn't go there for a special occasion. They can get a little overwhelmed if it is busy, but I would go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food wasn't bad, but we were disappointed by the lack of menu selection. Fresh items - lettuce and tomato on sandwich didn't seem fresh for this time of year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ourlittlefamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

it's just a diner....the floors where filthy under the tables and a kid was sweeping as we ate but wasn't put much effort into a chair was never moved. The food though was just average nothing to write home about.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've gone there four times now and have had poor, slow service three of the four times. The food tastes pretty good, especially for the price, but be prepared to wait for your stuff. The waitresses and waiters hardly check on our table, so they don't refill your sodas or any of that. I asked for a side of sauce with my plate and the server didn't bring it out the first time, so we had to wait and wait for her to come around again so I could ask for it, and THEN we had to wait for her to come back. It would've been faster to just make my own food at home. There are 4-5 servers working there and a bus-boy or two, so I wouldn't say they were understaffed. Just particularly slow. I've worked in restaurants before, and I don't think its unreasonable to ask for timely service. One more thing- if it gets busy enough, it gets pretty loud. I felt like I was shouting at my husband during the dinner rush.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlandsberger2, Public Relations Manager at Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Diner. Most of all thank you for coming back FOUR times --- a sign that you really like the food! As you point out, great food at a great price is what keeps us busy -- so busy that sometimes we get a bit backed up. We will certainly speak to our staff and see if we can improve our service. As you know, our food comes out quicker than almost anyone else on the Island -- but sometimes our popularity makes us a bit busier than even we thought! Thanks again -- and keep on coming back -- the great food and the great prices will always be there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing