We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who cares how late your open if your filthy?”

Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family oriented diner featuring a full menu. We serve breakfast (all day) lunch and dinner and late night treats. Economically priced we feature a wide selection of omlets, waffles, pancakes and other breakfast specialties. Our entrees include a selection of seafood, Italian dishes and hearty diner classics. Kids are welcome and there are specials for them for breakfast and all meals. Be sure and check out our cakes, desserts, rice pudding and other desserts!
23336
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Who cares how late your open if your filthy?”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I'd heard a word of mouth recommendation and came with a positive attitude. It's dirty ( and it JUST opened). If I ignore fries and detritus on the floor I STILL see dust under the chairs in a pattern that indicates the floor hasn't been mopped in days. There was chunks of something ON the table. The French fries were soggy, and the burger had a flavor indicative of older meat. It's a diner, and good diner food is wonderful. Good luck finding it because there is none here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlandsberger2, Guest Relations Manager at Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your recent trip to the Chincoteague Diner. Just a few notes.

We "unofficially" opened one week ago to work out the kinks in our new restaurant, and quite frankly were overwhelmed with customers. We had not advertised or promoted our Diner yet, since we wanted a week or two to get used to the new equipment, train the staff, and sort things out. Instead we had three straight nights of wonderful business - with lines out the door each night. Word had spread on the Island that we offered great food at a great price -- and people flocked to try us out. I am sure that at times we were totally overwhelmed.

We do want to clarify a few things. The entire restaurant was scrubbed, polished, dusted, and the floors stripped and waxed only 8 days ago. ALL the food is new and was just ordered as everything was empty 10 days ago. Be assured that you are only getting the freshest food available, and that our standard of cleanliness is, and will continue to be, the best on the Island.

We thank the Island for its wonderful response to our new restaurant, and we can assure you that the standard of Diner food that you expect will be there the next time you visit. Matt and his staff have run a wonderful diner for years and years, and the same will be true on Chincocteague. We hope you give us another try in a few days after we recover from this weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    147
    88
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fine and friendly, still working out the kinks”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It has been open less than a week, and they're still figuring some things out, but it's a friendly place in a nice room, just outside the National Wildlife Refuge, and they do serve breakfast all day. The two previous reviews look to me like ads--the place may very well get to be excellent, but I don't think there is any reasonable measure by which it is yet, so I'm calling it "Average" just to balance out those inflated marks. Otherwise, I would say "Very Good," because I'm very glad it is there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitful_nedboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Overdue”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A place that serves diner fare has been missing on Chincoteague since Mr. Baldy's changed hands a couple of years ago. The Chincoteague Diner serves great food at great prices. Breakfast is seved all day! The staff is friendly and attentive. If you are coming to Chincoteague for a visit, make sure that you stop in here. You will be glad that you did.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackFrost_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went for breakfast today at the Chincoteague Diner - loved it! Home fries made from REAL potatoes; excellent eggs benedict (and I special ordered with spinach instead of canadian bacon). Everything was delicious. The Diner will fill the void for good eclectic food, excellent prices on the Island (and also the void in my stomach). Wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acanfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing