We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BLAHAHA, don't waste your Cash !”

Gary Howard Seafood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BLAHAHA, don't waste your Cash !”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Talk to the locals and this is the hot place for seafood. But, I'm a MD native and this just doesn't qualify as great seafood. We tried this place 2 times this past week and each time the crabs were mushy. The steamed shrimp was OK and the crab cake platters were not great ! I'll be sure to buy fresh and them cook it up myself next time !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    30
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We call ahead to have them cook our food and return to the hotel for dinner. We like it better then any of the local restaurants.
We also stop here on the way home to load up with fresh seafood. Bought the flounder, scallops, shrimp and oysters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sable20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If the Locals go here its gooood”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The take-out meal platters are a wonderful deal. We ate there two nights in a row with three people. The sides they offer changes everyday. Plus, if the fish of the day isn't your favorite ask for another! It was only $2.5 to get rockfish instead! The crab cakes were amazing, absolutely no filter. But go early, as we waited for our take out around 4 pm their phone rang constantly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 717HopeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh seafood”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a highlight of our vacation. Three times during the week I stopped by to pick up part of our dinner. One night we had steamed crabs. Another night I picked up the fresh local rock fish. It was amazing on the grill. We had some leftover and made it into a delicious fish salad for lunch the following day. As a treat on the last day we got local oysters on the half shell. Best, most tender, oysters I have ever had. And even better was that they prepare the oysters for you. $8 for a dozen! You can't beat it. The prices here are unbelievable and the seafood is out of this world fresh. The service is friendly and competent. Call ahead and the order will be waiting for you to pick up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this place by looking on line and reading reviews for local seafood establishments. Boy am I glad I did. We placed our take out order for shrimp and a dozen crabs and enjoyed them immensely. The crabs were full and the shrimp fresh and delicious. We will be ordering again before we leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dabushas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary Howard Seafood also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Gary Howard Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing