We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got my moneys worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had a wonderful time at the nicest place on the island. It had two pools plus the free continental breakfast included yogurt and boiled egg for those people who need more than carbohydrates in the morning. The fact that the washer and dryer was free blew my mind. The scenery was well maintained and their was a grounds keeper who was there from 9am to about 4:30pm everyday I was at the hotel. I absolutely love the island. The people were friendly and there was enough icecream flavors throughout the island's quaint icecream palors to satify any foodie. I suggest bringing a beach towel, a good magazine, and . . . . nothing else is needed.
Crystal J. Philadelphia

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor but the hotel had plenty of ramps for the hotel and pool acces. In fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillyblackbbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 265 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in the new adults only section and throughly enjoyed it. The views were great and things were amazing clean. The room decor was a little outdated, but the sheets were clean/soft, the bed comfy, air conditioning worked. Breakfast was nicer than a normal continental breakfast. Great location from the town, not in the busy area, but still within walking distance everywhere.

Room Tip: Adults section (2nd floor to avoid the neon)
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank villanewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. This property has a beautiful setting, with an outdoor and indoor pool, hot tub, private gazebo etc. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and quiet. The breakfast was good, with muffins, bagels, etc. We would stay here again. Beautiful sunsets from your private balcony too :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtwhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great views. Clean room. Nice staff. I will come back. Two pools

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

All of the rooms have a balcony which is only a boardwalk away from the sound. Great view of the new bridge. Very breezy site so if temps are down a little it can get very cool trying to sit on the balcony. If you have a first floor room be careful in the AM as the lawn sprinkler system will get you wet. The cafe has a limited but good food selection. It only serves breakfast to guests and is no longer a restaurant. The rooms are clean and spacious but no microwave. Spacious property with an outdoor pool and indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as a nice exercise room. Well shaded parking lot. Laundry room available to guests with a washer and dryer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were happy with the Island Motor Inn. It is at the foot of the bridge, easy to find, yet off the main roads, providing a feeling of seclusion, though it's close to downtown, the main motel/restaurant road, and the Wildlife Refuge.. All rooms face the water and small islands, and the inn has a boardwalk. Sunsets are great. A couple of more modern inns also have water views, but only of the bridge; most motels are on Main or Mattox. The inn was built in the 80s and the furnishings in the main building are definitely from that decade. However, everything is clean and well maintained. There is a well-equipped gym and indoor pool and a free laundry. There used to be a public breakfast cafe, but now the inn serves a free continental breakfast only for guests, with toastables, hard boiled eggs and cereal.The pastries are 7-11 type wrapped Sara Lee, but all in all the breakfast is fine. The room had a refrigerator, but we would have liked a coffee maker as well. I would probably return to the Island Motor Inn if I visited Chincoteague again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main 3-story North building are pretty much the same. I was told that rooms in the newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My parents and I stayed here for a couple nights at the end of march and really enjoyed it. It was right off of the bridge coming onto the island so very easy to find. All rooms have a water view of the bay so it was nice to wake up in the mornings and see the birds and to watch the sunset to the west in the evenings. The grounds the property is on is very quiet with lots of areas to relax including a garden area, walk along the show with chairs, and a hammock. We were here in late march and only saw a couple of other people at the hotel so we felt like we had it all to ourselves. I'm sure that during the summer months this place is more crowded.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. I didn't see anything to really complain about, except no coffee maker in our room. However, the cafe opened at 8 a.m. and they have a very basic continental breakfast with juice, teas, and coffee. Something that we really liked about the hotel was it's distance from the downtown area. Again, we like the quiet places. There aren't many shops around but there is a coffee place just a couple blocks away. If you are looking for something that is closer to the shops and restaurants then the Best Western might be a better choice for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpl1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $143 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing