We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Uniontown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We had an awesome stay. This was our third trip to Waterside and we have never been disappointed. The inn is always clean, the staff is more than helpful, and the waffles are delicious. My husband and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms, peace and quiet, great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank picturelady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    209
    43
    12
    17
See reviews for
249
325
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Wonderful family owned motel. The folks who own this motel take great pride in making your stay as pleasant as possible. The place was very clean and any complaints were addressed immediately. The bed was very comfortable and surprise, surprise, new and and worn out. It was obvious that the owners take a great deal of pride in their ownership, down to the beautiful roses in front of the motel. The owners treated you like family that they were delighted to see and couldn't do enough for. This was our first trip to Chincoteague and we fell in love with the island and the Waterside Inn. We will be back next year to both.

  • Liked — Nice View, Nice Owners, Breakfast each morning, clean,
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2torun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Waterside Inn and were overly pleased with our stay. My husband was greatly impressed with the cleanliness of the room and we immediately complimented those that were responsible who were just finishing their day. The room provided a two bathroom sink separate area with a hair dryer and toiletries. A small refrigerator and microwave was provided as well, along with all other expected items. When booking the girl said I will give you a room with a good view, and that she did, the view was splendid for viewing the sunset over the water each evening along with the chorus of quacking ducks ... the sign said do not feed, but how could you resist ... sorry Waterside Inn. The waterview is great and from our deck we sited dolphins chasing a school of fish.

A continental breakfast is provided in the morning with the usual offerings, but the bonus were the huge waffles made fresh by the lobby staff ... including Donna, the owner. The staff was friendly and very helpful answering questions as to where to eat, etc. The internet is provided in the lobby if you wish to surf while there, or checking back home for the latest news, etc. Southern hospitality was greatly extended.

The location is nearby the fireman's grounds where there were still Chincoteague ponies from the years roundup to visit.

Lastly, we were so impressed with the lovely roses and the grounds surrounding the inn. The pool was well maintained and there is a private dock and grills for cooking available. The inn is only three levels, but there is an elevator as well for those not able to use the steps.

Good job staff of the Waterside Inn your inn is lovely.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Personal Contact with Staff
  • Disliked — Totally pleased
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EscapingPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

The Waterside Inn was an unassuming hotel in a perfect location along the bay away from the congestion of the other hotels which were crammed in together along the Blvd. It's not a five star hotel but was a great deal for the price. Each room had a private balcony with a table and chairs for enjoying the view. The ducks came up to our balcony every day and we enjoyed a wonderful view of the water. The best rooms are closest to the water and the most impressive veiws are on the top floor in the corner. The room included a small refrigerator, a coffee maker and a TV. The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good and included home made waffles. The outdoor simming pool and indoor jacuzzi were an added bonus.

  • Liked — The location was perfect and we especially enjoyed the private balcony.
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit soft for our taste and the water preeure was inadequate.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing
area with out the stress of the wallet. It was great,the staff was superb and always helpful. The pool was cool with a view of the bay right beside the pool. Excellent and I will do it again.

  • Liked — location and cost
  • Disliked — there was an off smell for a few minutes in the morning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlight14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here for 2 days this week. The view was wonderful--water and beach, seagulls and ducks, and local Victorian-style homes across the street.

The room was nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, including an iron and full-size ironing board, mini fridge, and plenty of towels.

We enjoyed using the tennis court across the street (the hotel even provides tennis balls and rackets).

The hotel's location is just perfect--within walking distance of the lovely downtown area (a few blocks) and some of the famous horses were just a few blocks away. The hotel staff did such a nice job of making us feel welcome and recommending that we see the horses. They also recommended some local restaurants which were not a disappointment. The pool and jacuzzi (jacuzzi is in a separate location and is adults only) were both clean and relaxing. Continental breakfast is provided, including waffles made to order by the hotel clerk. We'll definitely return!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing--really pleased about this hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallTownGal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Our stay at Waterside Inn was a great experience. The rooms are very clean and updated. Bathroom spotless, linens a nice quality. We are looking forward to going back we loved the area and the owners and staff at the Inn were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Liked — cleanliness and views
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Delawaretraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing