We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We, again, returned to Chincoteague, VA (the little town where time seems to stand still) this fall. It was our 25th anniversary and we wanted to spend it with our friends (Donna and Tommy, the owners) at the Waterside Inn. Upon learning that this was our 25th anniversary, we had roses (fresh cut from Tommy's rose garden) and sparking wine waiting for us upon our arrival (how wonderful was that!). This is probably our fourth of fifth time we have stayed at the Waterside Inn. The owners and staff make us feel like we are family and they are delighted to see us. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the view is great, and the breakfast that comes with the room, though crowded sometimes, is all anyone could ask for (of course, you have the option to take your breakfast back to your room and enjoy the view). When you stay here you always feel that you get personal attention, and that they will do whatever is necessary to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, they want you when you leave, to want to come back. I feel sure that we will be back to see everyone next September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2torun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us while celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary. We hope that you have many more!!! Glad you enjoyed the roses and wine in your room. Our returning guests are "family" to us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    200
    41
    12
    17
See reviews for
241
313
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This review is completely subjective based on what I value on a weekend getaway. My husband and I stayed on the second floor in a room with two queen beds. Upon entering the room, we were assaulted by the musty, stale smell. I've honestly never smelled anything quite like it, but we attributed it to the possibility of the room being shutup for a time since it is the start of the offseason. We left the balcony door open at all times and that helped a bit. The balcony is a nice touch. You have a nice view of the bay, however, the higher your room number, the better the view.

The furnishings are outdated and I immediately suspected the beds would be an issue because they looked so small. My husband is about 5'11 and his feet dangled over the edge. I wish that was the worst part about the bed. If you enjoy sleeping on a bean bag filled with air and a stray spring or two, then this is the mattress for you. Once we finally settled in for a night of tossing and turning, the people above us began thunderfooting back and forth. We could hear every footstep with the most delightful steps being those at 4am. I'm a stickler for getting my money's worth, but I could not stomach the thought of another night on that bed, so we left late the second night of our stay.

The front desk staff was very friendly. I liked the maps of the island we received upon check-in. They do offer complimentary breakfast in the room where you check in. The pool is heated and is in a super cute area with tables inside the pool area and more beside the pier. And the pier is a great, peaceful place to sit at night.

Chincoteague is a wonderful place to visit. Quaint town, friendly folks, and the drive to Assateague takes no more than five minutes from the Waterside Inn. Overall, I will return to Chincoteague, but I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go with the third floor. That way you'll know the thundering footsteps you hear in the night wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sorry to hear your stay with us was unacceptable. If we were aware of the problem with your room/beds we would have been happy to try and accommodate you in another room. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We hope that your next visit to the area will be an enjoyable and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Enjoyed our second visit to Chincoteague. Originally went because of fishing off the Waterside Inn's private dock and recently went back. Breakfast area is more comfortable with a bigger selection. Rooms are clean, balcony quite sufficient and sunsets on the Bay are just incredible! Staff always willing to help. Enjoyed one day on Assateague before Government shutdown, putting a damper on our planned getaway. Swam in Waterside's heated pool overlooking the Bay. Adequate exercise room with Jacuzzi. Can't beat the price which includes the breakfast. Enjoyed the magnificent roses along the property.

Room Tip: Small refrigerator and microwave provided. Take a second or third floor room so you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for repeating what most of our guests really count on and enjoy at the Waterside, clean, waterfront rooms, and friendly helpful staff. It is one of the many things that sets us apart from other places. Happy Holidays to you and your family. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I came for the birding (it was limited as the refuge was closed because of the stupidity of the GOP). Our stay was still relaxing and the inn is a great bargain. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Met very nice people over breakfast (including the last reviewer).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for being one of our regular customers. We depend on repeat business and word of mouth to keep our business as successful as it is. We are always doing things to keep up with the trends and we offer many extras found only in the finest hotels.. Rates stay low for several months during the off-season so you have plenty of time to come back. There are a lot of snow geese around plus a large variety of other feathered friends. And thank goodness the beach is open for visitors. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Took my mom away for a few days and we decided on Chincoteague. I had stayed here almost two years ago with a small group of friends and decided to come back. As before, I enjoyed my stay, as did my mom. We brought along some movies and the front desk lent me a DVD player to use. Yes, you occasionally hear people walk by, or hear the rumble of a luggage cart, but if I had wanted 100% quiet and privacy I'd have rented a private house in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitWit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so glad that you were able to spend some quality time with your mother. Chincoteague has such a variety of things to do for all friends and family members. We have the newly revamped movie theater that runs matinees as well as regular nighttime shows and sometimes live bands. Come stay at the Waterside and enjoy the short walk to downtown restaurants and shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary weekend. The room had plenty of space and the balcony (3rd floor) provided wonderful views of the channel. The pool also overlooked the water, and the private dock was nice to walk on by day and night. We had only wished for more fresh fruit at breakfast.

Room Tip: 3rd floor seems the way to go for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We do alternate and rotate hot and cold items on our breakfast bar. If you had mentioned it to the breakfast girl we probably had more options in the kitchen. Next time you come mention when you check in that you really like the fruit and we will be sure to have a good supply. Hope to see you in the near future. We are open all year and run a variety of specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good stay over for one night with family. Friendly staff, nice dock. The room was clean, a bit cramped for 5 (three kids, two adults), but would be perfect for 4. Easy to find. Enjoyed the heated pool just off the water.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74blackbullnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are glad that you discovered us and that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon. By the way we do have connecting rooms and the condos have two bedrooms and lots of space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing