We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean with Great Views”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary weekend. The room had plenty of space and the balcony (3rd floor) provided wonderful views of the channel. The pool also overlooked the water, and the private dock was nice to walk on by day and night. We had only wished for more fresh fruit at breakfast.

Room Tip: 3rd floor seems the way to go for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeredithPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We do alternate and rotate hot and cold items on our breakfast bar. If you had mentioned it to the breakfast girl we probably had more options in the kitchen. Next time you come mention when you check in that you really like the fruit and we will be sure to have a good supply. Hope to see you in the near future. We are open all year and run a variety of specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 814 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good stay over for one night with family. Friendly staff, nice dock. The room was clean, a bit cramped for 5 (three kids, two adults), but would be perfect for 4. Easy to find. Enjoyed the heated pool just off the water.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74blackbullnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

We are glad that you discovered us and that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon. By the way we do have connecting rooms and the condos have two bedrooms and lots of space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay, especially for the value. We really enjoyed it here. Location is great -- great views of the channel, right on main street and such a short drive to the beach. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The heated pool right by the water was wonderful. Breakfast in the morning was great -- plenty of choices and protein! You might have to wait a sec for a seat, but it was really never a problem.

A couple of notes: The room did have a bit of a cleaning product smell, but honestly, you adjust to it and it wasn't a big deal. The beds were on the soft side, which wasn't great for my back. The rooms were clean and that's the biggest thing.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glittergirrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review. The views, the value, the customer service are just a few of the reasons we are such a popular destination for families, couples, business people and others who understand the you do not have to be expensive to be great. Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been coming to Chincoteague island for over 35 years. I was told that I am now considered a local. The Waterside Inn was again a wonderful vacation for my family. Perhaps the staff, the clean rooms, the wonderful dock, the ease of having a breakfast included in the price, perfect location, clean pool, wonderful sunsets, bike storage accommodations, the other guest being so friendly, made this a great family vacation again. Our family only gets 5 days per year to be all together and Waterside Inn is a great spot for us to go and enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoy your vacations at our family owned and operated hotel. You identified one of the things that sets us apart, which is that our guests are treated like old friends and a part of our extended family. I enjoy many conservations with our visitors and learn something new everyday. I hope when plan your next vacation we are at the top of the list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Waterside Inn is a homey, pretty place on the water! The place, including the swimming pool, is well maintained. Staff and management are friendly hosts and serve an excellent breakfast as part of the deal. We find Sept-Oct to be the perfect season there -- water and climate are warm and crowds have thinned.

Room Tip: Recommend the extra few bucks for a 2nd level room (3rd level not needed) for a wonderful view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

We pride ourselves on our customer service and bay view charm. Hope you can return soon and often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Waterside Inn and enjoyed my stay immensely. The room was clean, plenty of space to sit and the sunsets were spectacular from WI. I used the pool, too! The many people I encountered at the desk were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great! I will stay there again!

Room Tip: The higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review. Our sunsets are very popular and so is our hot breakfast. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Waterside Inn is a comfortable place to stay. I was there for 4 nights and found the people at the front desk extremely nice and they treated me like family. They were attentive and made sure I had what ever I needed. I ended up having to take their last room, a smoking room, but they filtered the air and there wasn't even the faintest smell of smoke in the room or on my clothes; I was very impressed with this! Rooms are clean and there is a small refrigerator. The beds are comfy and a fine size for 1-2 people and probably one child/teen. The rooms and furniture are dated, but IMO the staff impressed me so much, the furnishings in the room didn't matter to me. The breakfast had many different types of food from light to more heavy and would satisfy a carnivore or vegetarian - there were muffins, pancakes, eggs, pastries, fresh fruit and juices. The owner loves roses and they are absolutely beautiful lining walkways along the Inn and in every corner available. I did not use the pool or dock, but they looked fine as well. I was there to see the NASA launch the LADEE and since there was a large crowd expected, I was issued a pass to hang in the window so that I would have no problem returning to the island if the roads were blocked. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and the people who work there are it's biggest asset! I would stay there again with no second thoughts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 7KimA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

We appreciate your review and your business! Hopefully you can return soon for another rocket launch from Wallops Island. The next one is scheduled for Dec.15th! A special promotional rate is available for all launches. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $73 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale family owned and operated hotel in a resort area offering many amenities found in larger chains. We pride ourselves in friendly personal service and unmatched hospitality. All rooms have private waterfront balconies overlooking the Chincoteague Bay. We are a short drive to Assateague Island and NASA Wallops Flight Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing