We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations !”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best locations !”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

PARIDISE! OK,OK, my wife and I are Chincoteague Island/Assateague Park fanatics. We prefer our vacations near a beach. Stayed...July 3,4,5 2013 This was our 2nd stay on the island. Our first was during the month of Sept, at a chain hotel that was closer to the main road coming into the island, but the Waterside has it beat, at least for the view. We got the room we requested....absolutely lovely. Plenty of room. Yes, the glass elevator(whole back wall) is a nice touch, especially for us staying on top(3rd) floor....great view of sun going down (as you're going down, :-)).
I chose this place to stay based on location as I did with Oceanic Motel, OceanCity,MD(don't miss my review). It's farther down the bay, away from the 'chain' hotels, thus.....almost an open view of the bay and marshes. When you walk to the end of the corridor(outside) you come upon a 270degree gorgeous panorama of inlet, bay, fishing boats, piers, crabbers checking their traps, lots of waterfowl, windsurfers, kayakers, ...you get the picture (and check out mine).
Hotel description: all rooms have balcony facing southwest and the bay. This is do to the hotel layout...the building sits side-ways to the bay (see pictures). It's a row of rooms,3-high, with room entrance opening onto the corridor which is like longgggggg deck; allowing for each room(opposite side) to afford a grand view of the bay. The higher room numbers are nearer to the water and I think the rooms next to the 'water side' (higher priced) have an extra bay window and may be larger. We stayed in room 310 and were totally satisfied. Not a single complaint about the room. The corridors, building, grounds were in beautiful shape. Parking lot looked newly paved. The building is lined with magnificent looking,well-preened roses....online pics don't do them justice. Did not actually get in the jacuzzi, but checked-out the water temp, controls, room decor,.......all FANTASTIC......(if only I was there in December, ;-).
Staff was more than helpful and courteous.....answered all our questions. Breakfast area and front desk are in the same, sort-of small room. I think it needs to be twice the size. There are 5 or 6 tables and the area is emaculately kept, but we chose to eat outside at the very nice picnic table area (I really enjoy the early morning time when vacationing near the water). Entrance to the property is on the main street and easy to find. Some of the local restaurants, shops are in walking distance. No license needed to crab off the nice pier owned by Waterside. I'll be staying here again and again. Oh yes, absolute best part of my stay at the Waterside?...4th of July fireworks from my balcony....ranks in the top ten great moments in my life.....if you get the chance, DO IT !

Room Tip: Closer to the dock, the better (higher room nbr)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Wow, what a great review and thanks for the gorgeous pictures. We do have the best view of the fireworks and also the rocket launches. I think your review really caught the essence of a peaceful quiet stay at the Waterside Inn. Thanks, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    209
    43
    12
    17
See reviews for
249
325
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited Chincoteague Island during off season - (End Sept/Beg Oct) - My room had a beautiful view, the roses were beautiful, the staff were kind and friendly, the continental breakfast was just enough (for me) and the place was clean. Flowers were in my room when I arrived. The staff were personable and friendly compared to a bigger type of hotel. I can't say what it's like during the busy season, but when I went it was amazing and I will make this hotel my first choice when traveling there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for sharing the amazing photos of our rose gardens and panoramic sunset views. It seems as though you captured the essence of our inn! We hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Heated poll was very clean. The view from the room was stunning. Few upgrades made recently added a nice touch. For instance glass elevator and an addition with gym and Jacuzzi. My wife insists of going back next year.

Room Tip: Second and 3rd floor room at the north side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgurov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
The Waterside Inn is a family owned and operated hotel. We are always pleased to hear when we exceed a customers expectations. Glad you were able to enjoy our waterfront pool and relax on your own private balcony with a view of the bay! We hope you will bring your wife back soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Waterside. This was our second stay with them (last time 4 years ago). Location is great. Staff is friendly. Included breakfast a bonus and quite adequate. The pool area was clean and well maintained and the pool temp was very comfortable. The location on Main Street overlooking the bay is lovely. views from room balcony, the pool area and pier are really very nice. My husband and children crabbed and fished off the pier, we enjoyed the pool and exercise room. Easily walkable to shops and restaurants on Main Street. Easy drive to Assateague Island.

The room was very clean, but did have a slight odor when we checked in. I happened to have a new "tree" air freshener in my car which we brought in and hung on the A/C, and the maid must have gotten the hint as she left a can of Lysol spray in our room the next morning. We didn't complain to the front desk, as it seemed to subside and didn't remain an issue.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Waterside when visiting Chincoteague Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOREN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear that after returning to the area once again, you chose to stay with us! Sounds like your family enjoyed many of our amenities here at the Waterside that make our Inn
a unique destination. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been coming to the Waterside twice a year for many years. Donna and staff always go out of their way to make sure the stay is pleasant. The property is well maintained and clean with beautiful flower beds. The continental breakfast is always being enlarged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jegmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. It is always a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip to our special place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very clean (except maybe for bedspreads and pillow shams) and free Wifi, BUT:

Flies on breakfast food
Only full fat milk available at breakfast. No water out at breakfast.

Non-white bedspreads and pillow shams - wonder when last cleaned.

Desk receptionist’s blouse was way too revealing - Don't need to see that- this is not a bar.

Walkways outside rooms are boards, so when people roll their suitcases down the walkways, big racket.

Door to toilet is misaligned so is very hard to close- scrapes and makes very loud noise, waking up whoever is sleeping at night.

Beds way too soft-hurt back.

Very expensive- $170/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slssepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you consider acceptable. All of our rooms have been recently updated with new bedspreads, carpet, curtains, and other personal touches. Cleanliness is important to us, so we are happy to hear that our high standards in that respect were also appreciated by you. Our hot and cold rotating breakfast items, coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, and reduced fat milk is enjoyed by our guests daily. The newly renovated breakfast area with ample seating is now complete. We hope during your next visit to Chincoteague, wherever you chose to stay, will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Chincoteague. We have been vacationing at the Waterside Inn for many years. We have always found the owners and staff to be super. They go out of their way to make their guests feel satisfied and comfortable. The amenities there are what you would expect from a much larger hotel. The atmosphere is perfect with the view of the bay, the pool and the gorgeous sunsets. There are boat slips for the fisherman and even a place to clean the fish after a great day on the water. There is a long dock with benches at the end to enjoy the sunsets, fish or just relax. Breakfast is available daily in the office and the selection is more than you get at many of the chain motels (many of which don't even offer this amenity). The landscaping is spectacular with all the beautiful flowers, especially the many colors of roses that are planted in front of the building that you walk past to get to your room. The hotel is well- maintained and clean. I can't say enough about the Waterside Inn. If you are looking for a great place to stay while vacationing in Chincoteague, do yourself a favor and call them to make a reservation; you won't be sorry that you did. You'll understand why there are so many great ratings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Your family is "family" to us! We look forward to your visit each year, and are grateful to be a part of your wonderful family vacation memories! Thank you for sharing your generous thoughts with others about what makes the Waterside Inn so special to you. Take care and see you all next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing