We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We made our way to Waterside Inn in Chincoteague after spending 4 busy days in Williamsburg, VA. What a nice way to end our vacation! Although the rooms were a bit outdated at the Waterside, it was a charming hotel with beautiful views. There's a private pier for fishing and crabbing or to sit and enjoy the bay breeze while taking in the scenery. We also enjoyed the pool, especially after a long day at the beach. Another plus was the family of ducks that greeted us every morning on our back deck- I don't think we would have that experience at another hotel!
I would also like to add that the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They provided us with plenty of information about the Island (since this was our first visit). We will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaMackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    206
    42
    12
    17
See reviews for
245
319
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is obviously an older hotel, but it is kept up reasonably well. The location alone is enough to bring us back, but the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well. The location right on the water is breathtaking and the ducks in the yard are charming. The rooms were large and comfortable. Overall, nothing fancy, but it was quiet and had everything we needed. Housekeeping was not quite spot on for our visit, though. When we arrived, our room was not ready and it was over an hour after check in before we could go to the room. During our stay, there seemed to be little things missed every day. One day the coffee maker was cleaned, but never again. Some days the coffee cups weren't washed or the complimentary coffee wasn't replaced. One day all the washclothes weren't replaced. Because the front desk was so accomodating, this was a very small inconvenience, but it was frustrating. Even with all that, we would return. The location is beautiful with a view of the water from the balcony and easy walking distance to downtown shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Waterside Inn. The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfy, and the wi-fi worked fine. The pier is a nice touch and we did a little fishing, although we only caught a few small fish, it was fun. The view of the sunset was apparently so romantic that my fiiance proposed to me on the balcony. We can't wait to come back for a visit this fall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holley, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stumbled onto theWaterside Inn looking for a single night stay. Fortunately they had a room and we were so pleased. Super clean, pool open till 1 am, beautiful roses, delicious breakfast (the best scrambled eggs, ever), friendly staff, and away from all the hustle, bustle, and traffic. Very quiet and yet not too far from shops and restaurants. Also very reasonably priced, especially compared to Hampton and Comfort. Waterside location for boating and fishing, also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FANDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Best part is balcony to see sun set over the bay. Nice surprise was eggs or waffles for breakfast. Not luxurious but good value. Rooms were clean and quiet. Nice little pool on the water. The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating with any questions. They had menus for most of the restaurants in Chincoteague. It is not far at all to get to the beach. I would much rather be water to see sunsets than be nearer to the ocean. A great place for couples or families with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the water so you can have a good view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motzof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This isn't the newest or most modern inn on Chincoteague but we love it here. The rooms are neat as a pin and have many thoughtful touches.The breakfast provided is a money saver. The staff is wonderfully friendly and will assist in any request. The views from the pier are unparralelled and the hundreds of roses in front are a joy.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher #s have better views. eg 112 and up. 212 and up. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jande2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Waterside inn and had a wonderful experience. The room was clean and the surrounding very quiet and relaxing. You are very close to everything but can enjoy listening to sea gulls and enjoying the water views. We The roses grown here are beautiful and we certainly would recommend this as a great place to stay. Oh, and I forgot to mention the cooked to order waffles for breakfast!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing