We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother/Daughter Summer Vacation Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1848 Island Manor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1848 Island Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, , Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mother/Daughter Summer Vacation Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

My tween daughter and I had the most wonderful weekend at the Island Manor on Chicoteague Island in VA. The service was excellent, the facilities superb, and food was wonderful!

Before coming, I discussed my interests with the Innkeeper (Karen Pettigrew) for my daughter and I. Her suggestions for restaurants, site seeing (beaches, creameries, etc.) and boat tours were just perfect!

The home and rooms were lovely and the Inn Keeper (Karen) was most gracious and helpful prior to and during our stay. Our room (Juliette) was neat, spacious, quaint and very comfortable. We had a private bathroom outside of the room which felt very much like being at home. Robes were also provided along with bottled water.

The breakfast was wonderful and very satisfying consisting of several dishes. They were also able to accommodate my food allergies (cheese and cream). During the day/evening there ample tasty snacks and drinks provided along with refrigerator space for our leftover meals from dining out.

The inn is just big enough in terms of bedrooms, sitting rooms and game areas. My daughter challenged me to a game of chess (and won). The diversity of guests for that weekend was also nice ranging from a medium group of ladies to several couples ranging in age. There is also a lovely outdoor patio with the most elegant flowers, seating facilities and outdoor murals on the wall. Parking is plentiful. Finally, beach outings were especially nice because they provide umbrellas, chairs, and towels if needed.

It was a great experience and well worth revisiting. There many other things we wanted to do but just ran out of time. Now, my daughter wants this to be an annual getaway and I would have to agree!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
129
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Karen took great care of us during my wife's 30th birthday weekend. I would highly recommend spending some time at this most comfortable and welcoming B&B. The beds were great, the breakfasts were incredible, and the Inn was well-stocked in all regards.

The Island Manor House is in the middle of the "shopping district" of Chincoteague Island, but is across the Island from the popular beach area, so heading to the beach will require a short drive. A few hotels get you closer to the beach, but I bet they aren't as pleasant a place to lay your head.

We plan on going back to the Island Manor House closer to Christmas when the migratory waterfowl arrive at the Refuge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCskadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We recently stayed at the Island Manor House and it was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast. They did not dissapoint. We loved everything from the yummy breakfasts (blueberry pancakes with blueberry syrup were the best!) to the bikes across the street at Miss Molly's Inn to the beach towels and picnic lunches. Oh and the fresh baked cookies and brownies, lemonade and tea. Everyone from Karen to the housekeeper was so pleasant and helpful and delighted to have us stay. We truly felt welcome. And we definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAadven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

My wife and I both work very hectics schedules, so when we get to go on vacation, we appreciate being able to finally "slow down". We got a kick out of what we quickly called "island time"... everything seemed to open at "ish o'clock" and close at "ish o'clock" depending on when the various businesses decided to do business that partcular day; a welcome change from our nomal pace(s).

My wife picked the Island Manor House for our stay based on recommendations from reviews such as this; the reviews don't even do justice. The room was extremely comfortable, and coupled with the previously mention atmospehere of the town... Chicoteague Island was the perfect get-away for us.

Karen (the inkeeper at Island Manor House) made the trip that much more special; she is one of the nicest and most accomdating people we have ever met. To even further the experience, we were treated to breakfast with the other guests of the inn every morning... I can say without a second thought, this was some of the best food we've ever had.

In addition, we had the oppotunity to see the wild ponies of Assateague Island (which my wife read about in the "Misty" book series from her childhood). Though elusive, these majestic creatures were absolutely gorgeous.

I think it is safe to say... WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRS-JYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Couldn't have been better really. Wonderful hosts, unbelievable facilit-y-so beautiful, fabulous location, incredible food, fantastic private rooms... What more could you want? It was everything we dreamed of and more. Especially the house, it couldn't have been more quaint and charming and grand all at the same time. Karen and Mark are wonderful Innkeepers and it couldn't have been a more special place to stay. It made our trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Our trip to Chincoteague was quite a surprise. I've been to B&Bs before, and definitely expect them to be quaint and comfortable, but Island Manor House definitely exceeded expectations. It's so NICE inside, I felt like we should have been paying more just to spend time in there. The owners, Karen and Mark, are very personable, recommending things to do, places to eat, etc. We had some pretty cold and rainy weather (we didn't expect much the last weekend in October), but had a great time overall. Gotta be one of the most relaxing weekends we've had in a while. So comforting - came in from the cold our second night and helped ourselves to a huge assortment of teas and coffee outside the kitchen. And the breakfasts are great - if you can finish them. First breakfast started with enough New Orleans-style beignets to feed a small family, followed with a fresh blueberry & raspberry-something, and then these cheese pastry things that were filled with what I think were hard-boiled eggs. Everything was great, and we didn't even need to eat lunch. Would definitely recommend to family and friends, and definitely plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My first visit to Chincoteague Island will not be my last. The Island Manor House was beyond my expectations. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The rooms make you relax by their very design. The breakfasts served were wonderful. Mark is an excellent chef and Karen the most delightful hostess. The convenient location made this the perfect place to stay. Everything was done first class during our four night stay there. Mark and Karen were great to be around and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineNana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1848 Island Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1848 Island Manor House

Property: 1848 Island Manor House
Address: 4160 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the historic downtown of Chincoteague. Enjoy the charming inn with brick courtyard surrounded by roses, fountain and fireplace. Rate includes full breakfast for two each morning! In walking distance to several seafood restaurants, shops, antique stores and artist galleries. Only a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Assateague Island, the wild ponies, lighthouse and miles of pristine beach. Some rooms with water view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing