We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1848 Island Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a beautiful weekend in a beautiful suite. The food was great, the location perfect and the extras like home baked goodies available 24/7)and meticulously maintained bicycles made it a wonderful home away from home. Even on a rainy Friday afternoon, the common areas and the screened sun room made it feel like a little rain could not put a damper on our vacation.

Room Tip: I would rather pay for the suite here again, then choose a more popular beach town, and pay the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
131
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Island Manor House has much charm and character. We arrived on a Sunday following a busy wedding weekend so we found our instructions taped to the front door. That was fine with us and we had experienced that before at other B&B's. We let ourselves in and easily found our room. The room was average size and didn't offer any drawer space but the bed was amazingly comfortable! The bathroom was tiny but manageable. Our biggest complaint about the room was how TERRIBLY dusty it was...
The breakfast was delicious every morning though served kind of late for us (9:15am) but then again it's vacation so most people probably sleep in longer than we do. Coffee is available around the clock as well as some baked goods, so there's that! :)
The B&B makes going to the beach very convenient and offers bikes, chairs, towels, umbrellas, even bug spray available to its guests. That was a huge plus....so much less to pack and lug around.
Overall a nice place to stay. We found the house to be very quiet and most of the time felt like we had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at the Manor House. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The all day long snacks (brownies!) and drinks really made you feel like it was home. We took advantage of the common areas and garden and also the comfortable beach chairs. We also liked the location on Main St within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

The only reason I didn't rate it higher was the bathroom. It was tiny! Really tiny! I've stayed at some places in Europe with tiny bathrooms but this was even smaller. About 4 ft square contained the toilet and shower stall. Sink was in the main room. The door to the bathroom had to be partially open to use some of the facilities. I realize that this is an artifact of it being an old house but if a roomy bathroom is important to you this isn't the place for you.

Otherwise, I'd stay there again with no qualms.

Room Tip: Ocean Breeze has a nice view of the Channel but a tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this B&B after choosing Chincoteague Island from a recommendation of a friend. We were greeted warmly from Ben who showed us all the Manor's hidden extra's. Beach chairs, sunscreen, bug spray, beach umbrellas, many bikes, baked goods, lemonade, coffee, tea, and water are available around the clock. The house was large enough to feel like we had our own space and quiet enough to remain romantic and quaint. Our room was a moderate size and the bed was so comfortable we coulnd't resist a quick siesta upon arrival! Our bathroom was insanely small, but the rest of the hosue and the 'extra's' made up for it! Breakfast was delicious (Blueberry compote, stuffed frenchtoast, sausage, bacon, coffee and juice) and relaxing. The patio is a fantastic added touch where we enjoyed our own take out with wine one evening. Our only complaint was not of the B&B but of the Island, it wasn't what we expected. It's very small, not as quaint or historical as we would have hoped and a little strange. The beaches were beautiful and the B&B was a gem among it all. Ben~ Mike thinks you should eat one duck a month to monitor the population :) Thanks for everyting Island Manor House staff, we left feeling like family!

Room Tip: Having a bathroom in our room was worth the extra cost! Plan a day on bikes, this would be a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilindazy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The rooms were beautifully decorated and guests have access to home baked cookies, beverages,& snacks 24/7. There was a bottle of wine and basket of cheese & crackers waiting in our room. Ben, Tara, and Lin were wonderful hosts/cooks and you felt like you were staying at friend's house. Bicycles, umbrellas, sand chairs, suntan lotion, beach towels & mosquito repellant are all provided gratis. We did their afternoon tea which was sumptuous enough to be considered "lunch" and elegantly served. The gourmet breakfasts were fantastic. We took advantage of their picnic lunch so we could stay at the beach all day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryHartBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking to stay at a B&B for the second part of our extended weekend trip. We came across the Island Manor House on the Internet and stayed in their suite. It was absolutely stunning. Deep soaking tub, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and the decor was top notch. Moving on to the breakfast portion we couldn't have been more pleased. High end restaurant quality breakfast a welcome change from other B&B's we've stayed at. I highly recommend the Island Manor House and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanis8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed over the weekend and had a great time. Ben was great in giving us a tour of the inn and really demonstrated great customer service. Breakfast was good and our room was very comfortable. The innkeepers are great in recommending the best ways to enjoy the island and really go out of their way to make sure you get reservations for restaurants/island activities. We can't wait to come back to the island and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1848 Island Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1848 Island Manor House

Property: 1848 Island Manor House
Address: 4160 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the historic downtown of Chincoteague. Enjoy the charming inn with brick courtyard surrounded by roses, fountain and fireplace. Rate includes full breakfast for two each morning! In walking distance to several seafood restaurants, shops, antique stores and artist galleries. Only a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Assateague Island, the wild ponies, lighthouse and miles of pristine beach. Some rooms with water view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing