We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1848 Island Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I were married at the Island Manor House three weeks ago. Our stay exceeded our expectations in every way. Karen, the innkeeper is sweet and was the biggest help in preparing for our wedding day. She made sure every single detail was perfect and that everything was in place for the big event. The garden/courtyard where the ceremony and dinner was held was just beautiful. Our guests are still commenting on the Island Manor House. My husband and I stayed in the Nathanial Smith suite. The room was comfortable and spacious and even had a view of the bay . Breakfasts were to die for with fresh fruit, muffins, bacon and sausage. We cannot wait to return! If you are looking to relax with the absolute finest of service and luxury then the Island Manor House is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chincolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
131
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Island Manor House during the annual pony week. The food was great and service was excellant. We love having our coffee outside in their beautiful gardens. The room was beautiful and well decorated. The staff was very pleasent and helpful to us. It was nice to see a B&B give guests beach chairs, umbrellas, large beach towels and bicycles. If you want a nice picnic lunch they will fix one for you to go. It was just like spending a weekend at grandmom's house. We will definitly be back.
thanks so much for the wonderful time,
Andrew and Cecilia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meow1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The room was nice but the entire inn smelled like cigarette smoke. The inkeeper was nice and the food was good, but we'd rather stay at the Hampton Inn across the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyandpeteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from an overnight stay at the Island Manor House on Chincoteague Island. It was a real treat. The inn is very well decorated and the rooms are really lovely, I did get to check out a few. We chose to stay in the Sandy Dune room, at the top of the third floor, it's walls were angled and peaked with dormer windows. That made it a little cozy but there was plenty of room and the walls were hand painted with a beach dune feel. The bathroom was spacious, tho there was no tub just a shower.The bed was very comfortable. Karen, the innkeeper was quite gracious and helpful as we checked in during a busy time. There are goodies available all day long. There is a courtyard that sits outside the dining room which is just beautifully done with plants and flowers and lit at night with solar lights, perfect for relaxing after a day in the sun. The beach was a short drive away, but thru the wildlife refuge which was interesting. We caught a glimpse of the wild ponies. Chincoteague is dotted with lovely shops and places to eat (do steer clear of Don's Seafood Restaurant), and there is plenty of activities here. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room, a gourmet feast of apple stuffed french toast and pastries and desserts. Delicious! Everything considered it was a great time at the Island manor House, we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms here are smaller, but as pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaLady2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh. pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

On July 18th 2011 We had our wedding at the Island Manor House. I have never been more impressed by not only the grounds its self, but by the staff and the hospitality. Karen, the innkeeper, is absolutely amazing! There are not enough words to describe just how wonderful she is!! She not only made me relaxed but took care of everything and made our special day perfect!! The island manor house is by far the most beautiful B&B on the island. And Steve made the most amazing breakfast I've ever had, he deserves an award for his cooking talent!! I highly recommend staying here. We already plan to spend our first year anniversary here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpony310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We only stay at B&B's when traveling and this one is definitely in our top 10. The hostess was charming, the breakfast wonderful and the home is beautiful. It is situated ideally for biking anywhere on Chincoteague or Assateague. Not to mention close proximity to the Island Creamery!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nextonthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hostess was warm & welcoming. The inn is charming; the guestroom we stayed in was comfortable and the dining room elegant. The courtyard is delightful, with small tables & chairs next to a fountain and pots of flowers -- wonderful spot to relax with a book & a cup of tea. Bikes available, which my niece and I took advantage of, and lots of things for use at the beach (chairs, umbrellas, etc.). Great location. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1848 Island Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1848 Island Manor House

Property: 1848 Island Manor House
Address: 4160 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the historic downtown of Chincoteague. Enjoy the charming inn with brick courtyard surrounded by roses, fountain and fireplace. Rate includes full breakfast for two each morning! In walking distance to several seafood restaurants, shops, antique stores and artist galleries. Only a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Assateague Island, the wild ponies, lighthouse and miles of pristine beach. Some rooms with water view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing