We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest chain hotel to the Assateague beaches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closest chain hotel to the Assateague beaches.”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Hotel was clean and staff was friendly but we could hear the people above us walking around - we were on 2nd of 3 floors. We could also hear the water in the pipes when the toilet flushed.
McDonald's is just across the street if you don't like the free breakfast or have a Big Mac Attack.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltleffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    234
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
505
448
51
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Found a great rate on Expedia (pre-Memorial Day). It is just down the street from the bridge to Chincoteague with a view of the lighthouse and marsh from the motel. The staff was helpful and the rooms clean and modern - great lighting in the bath (with sink) and another sink/vanity. The continental breakfast was fine - not outstanding and the Best Western internet service would "cut out" occasionally but not as much as the next BW we stayed in where we had the same problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thankful68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We booked with BW primarily due to location and the availability of adjoining rooms. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, the staff was attentive, friendly, and made every effort to ensure that our stay was worthy of a return visit. The continental breakfast offerings were plentiful and tasty. The indoor breakfast dining area is a tad small, but the front patio provides extra seating and views of the lovely landscaping. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to all looking for a nice, quiet, affordable place to stay while visiting the islands.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne53755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I took my sister on a trip for her 60th birthday. We spent two nights here and had an excellent time. The staff, especially Helen, were super friendly and helpful. The hotel is immaculately cleaned and my sister and I are particularly picky about this. The location was great and there is a great little restaurant, The Sea Shell Cafe, right next door, that has a nice little lunch. I would return here in a second. The only regret is that it was still too cold to swim in the pool because it certainly looked inviting. The room was large with a nice little deck that overlooked the swimming pool. Oh, yeah, I almost forget...a full, yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I did not find a single thing to dislike about this hotel! The room was large and nicely decorated, the entire place was immaculately clean, all of the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was as good as it gets for a hotel breakfast, and the price was right. In addition, our room had a nice balcony with a view of the wildlife refuge. Unfortunately, we arrived late and had to leave the next morning - I would have liked to spend a day visiting Chincoteauge and relaxing in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This is one of the newest (recently renovated) hotels on Chincoteague Island. This is likely the nicest hotel on the island. The location is terrific -- it is the closest hotel to the entrance to Assateague Island. The staff were fantastic and the room was huge. We even had a waterfront view! The price of the room was good. Although you could find both cheaper and more expensive hotel room rates on the island that night, this was the best value for your money given the great accommodations.

The hotel amenities were great: Bicycle rentals were so convenient ($3/hour). The outdoor pool was very nice a clean, although not huge. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent. Four types of cereals to choose from. Eggs, bacon, Belgium waffles, juices, oatmeal, and much, much more. The hotel is convenient to everything. The staff provided great recommendations for where to eat and places to see.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireMedicSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville Pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

When on Chincoteague Island this is the best place to stay! It is clean, the people are friendly and the location is the last point before crossing the bridge to enter the park! We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a reasonably priced hotel with the best service possible. Oh, they even rent bicycles on the premises! How convenient is that!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
763 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
920 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Property: Best Western Chincoteague Island
Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing