We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place had it all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place had it all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Chincoteague is mostly about the wild ponies. We stayed for 5 nights in June; three generations of us including a 10 year old girl who loves ponies and was the reason for our trip and a 15 year old boy who doesn't. We had the Papa John Suite at the Best Western. It was completely furnished with anything you could need to make or serve a meal except a full size stove.
The main room had a king sized bed that was very comfortable, and a large plasma screen tv. There was also a cafe table and stools, an easy chair and an armoire next to the sliding glass door that led out onto the small but adequate balcony. Being on the front of the hotel, we were able to look out on the pool area, which was well-landscaped.
The bathroom was actually spacious, with lots of storage room and counter space. There was an inner room that held a hot tub which was put to good use after the 9 hour drive from NY.
The kitchen area was also roomy and fully stocked with dishes, glasses and silverware; it had a microwave and a small refrigerator. On the opposite end of the suite was a room with its own air conditioner that held a queen size bed and a set of bunk beds. There was a dresser and mirror but no additional storage space.
The staff was friendly and made helpful recommendations when we asked about dinner and things to see on the island. We even got a friendly hello from one of them when we walked into a "locals" restaurant one night for dinner and walked past their table!
The Best Western served a full hot breakfast every morning in a clean and well-stocked room right off the lobby. A computer and printer were available for use in the lobby. A basket of fruit was always available, as was lemonade.
The hotel's location just off the rotary leading to Assoteague was ideal, and we were fortunate enough to be able to see the lighthouse from our balcony on a moonlit night before spending the day there at the wildlife preserve.
The price was reasonable especially for the value we got for our money.
This was a pleasureable stay at a hotel that obviously made a priority of good customer service; I'd stay there again any time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgcruise52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary this year and I have to say it is one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in. Every room either has a balcony or patio that overlooks the water between Chincoteague Island and Assateague Island. We had a great view of the Assateague Island Lighthouse. Our room was very large and comfortable and the location, even though it is on the main road, is very quiet. The breakfast was fabulous, lots of choices and even easy-to-use waffle irons that make delicious Belgian waffles. (If I'm saying they're easy-to-use then they are. I'm terrible in the kitchen.) The thing that REALLY stands out about this place is the staff. EVERY member of the staff that we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. Chincoteague is one of those places that we visit at least once a year and from now on we will only be staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBEWWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We have gone to Chincoteague for Labor Day every year since 2005. We have stayed here 3 times and it is by far our favorite lodging. We have stayed on the chanel and this year tried another local hotel, but will be back at the Best Western next year. The service is great, staff is friendly and the grounds are immaculate. The breakfast is very hearty for a continental breakfast and we love the location. It is easy to get to the wildlife loop, rent bikes across the street, or just hang out at the pool with a view of the lighthouse. The rooms are spacious and the fridge is a nice bonus. Since there is no food service on the refuge, it's great to have a fridge to keep sandwich fixings for the beach.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneycrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Large clean room with balcony. Nice breakfast which you can take outside to eat. The location is great right near the bridge to the preserve. The people at the desk were very helpful. Be very careful, the speed limit all over the island is 25.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for three nights and were totally blown away by the awesome staff, including everybody from people at desk to housekeeping. They communicated a strong desire to do everything in their power to make our stay perfect. The place was also beautifully maintained with strong evidence of pride in their lovely spot.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Of the dozens, maybe hundreds of hotels and motels I've stayed at that are parts of big chains, this must be the friendliest: I felt sure the staff must all be family, but they're not (I asked): it just feels that way, as if this were a small, locally owned place and had nothing to do with a big chain. The landscaping is really lovely around the front entrance and the pool. It's located within easy biking distance of the marvelous National Wildlife Refuge, right next door to one of the better restaurants in the area, and next door also on the other side to the Maritime Museum, which really is surprisingly good (and a good cheap option if the weather's bad). Breakfast is the only element that reminded us of a typical chain--plenty of options, just none of them great. We've stayed at about half a dozen hotels on the island, and this is the one we'll surely return to every time from now on. In fact, we'll probably make extra trips to Chincoteague now that we've found it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gitful_nedboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Chincoteague is a small place, (every one knows everyone kind of a place), it has only two main roads, the Main st and Maddox. This hotel is on Maddox, very close to Assateague. Next premise of this hotel is the Oyster Maritime museum, if that is on your trip plan. We had a very good stay, very clean spacious room, excellent breakfast, very helpful staff. We were lucky to get a good "summer sizzle" deal and got a cheap rate from their website. The Hampton hotel does look more grand from outside, it has the back water view and beautiful sunset view. But when we were visiting Chincoteague the room rate difference was almost double.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indian_n0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#8 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 18 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing