We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is our third time visiting the island, and we always stay at this best western. The proximity to the beach and refuge can't be beat, not to mention the amazing staff especially the front desk always greeting you and being attentive to your needs. Even house keeping were always pleasant; smiling and saying hello. The hotel is located on the far end of the island but you can still walk/bike every where. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The best part had to be the price, we paid the same for 3 nights that we did at another hotel for 2. We are definitely staying at this hotel every time we come to CI.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the employees were super friendly and helpful: the front desk folks were great at check in - offering help with restaurants, etc., the cleaning staff was helpful, and the breakfast attendant made sure we had what we wanted, and was friendly. The rooms were generous, well maintained, and clean. Even the laundry was easy to use and reasonably priced. Their location was great being nearest to the entrance to Assateague,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkieRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location - closest to the wildlife area - but we were very pleased with the modern, attractive facilities and friendly staff. We received warm cookies on arrival , very good full breakfast, and newspaper delivered to the door. It was a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, with happy, helpful employees. The hotel exceeded our expectations and was a pleasure in itself. There were bikes for rent, but it was an easy walk to the bridge to Assateague. Lovely pool, and outdoor seating and dining facilities, with a tinkling fountain and lovely flowers. Couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Third floor room has view of the lighthouse and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've visited CI several times in the past, first time at this hotel. We were impressed by the warm welcome and friendly staff from the front desk to the maids. Rooms were large and well appointed with a small refrigerator and two sinks. Proximity to the Assateague Island was a plus, along with on site bike rentals. Breakfast buffet had a good variety of food but indoor seating was a bit cramped. However an open air covered outdoor area in front of the hotel with wrought iron tables and chairs made for a great option to spread out.

Room Tip: Better views of the Assateague Island lighthouse and surrounds are from the secnd and third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My friend and I weren't sure where we were going to stay on our visit to Chincoteague so we did a search on-line. The room rates and the proximity to the Assateague bridge were what drew us to book a room here. From our check-in at the front desk, the great room, and the friendly cleaning staff, our stay couldn't have been nicer. When we asked the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations they were very helpful, and the food was excellent at each of the places we tried. They even took the time to give us a few tips about touring Assateague. I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The accommodations were very nice, the front desk was polite and helpful, the room was clean and well appointed, the beds were comfortable, we were not bothered by noise, the breakfast was okay, and the parking was convenient. There is a small picnic area behind the hotel, with tables and a grill, for those who prefer to cook their own. The location was the best part of all. You can't get any closer to the refuge. The one fly in the ointment, and it wasn't the BW's fault, was an extremely bright light shining at the McDonald's just across the street. There was no looking out the window toward the marsh at night because of this light.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't directly face the McDonald's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I called to see if there was a room available while we were about three hours away. Daniel at the desk was very accomodating, and made our reservation then and there. When we arrived, he was there at the desk, and checked us in without delay, even though it was 10pm, and gave us our chocolate chip cookies! he checked us out the next morning too! Nice little treat! The room was a little larger than the usual double, but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual for a BW, but with good variety. Only complaint was that we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around--dont' know if they really were clomping around or the ceilings are that thin.... Otherwise, I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $78 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing