We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I called to see if there was a room available while we were about three hours away. Daniel at the desk was very accomodating, and made our reservation then and there. When we arrived, he was there at the desk, and checked us in without delay, even though it was 10pm, and gave us our chocolate chip cookies! he checked us out the next morning too! Nice little treat! The room was a little larger than the usual double, but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual for a BW, but with good variety. Only complaint was that we could hear the guests in the room above us walking around--dont' know if they really were clomping around or the ceilings are that thin.... Otherwise, I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Chincoteague Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Okay, it could've been exhaustion from a full week of traveling from place to place with the family, but i don't think so. It was the salty air, the ducks, the clean room, comfy bed and pillow and quiet a/c! Seriously, some a/c units at some hotels are so loud when turning on and off! This truly is the closest hotel to Assateague and I highly recommend it. We were on the ground floor (motel style) and had a back door that opened out to yard and the pool...super nice! It was fun to see the local ducks, who according the locals "own the island," landing in the pool. Oh, and the breakfast was great too! Not just continental, but full breakfast. We also appreciated the sink and vanity outside the bathtub/toilet area which allowed for more of our family to get ready at the same time.

Room Tip: first floor by the pool!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachdreamer1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is really clean,love the fact that all rooms have balcony facing the refuge.Plenty of space in room,refg,micro & coffee maker.We ride are bikes from hotel into park. Its great.The breakfast is ok,good in a pinch,area is small but u can sit outside.McDonalds across st. & diner next store.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite being chance by work my first day's stay, on the second day I was able to truly appreciate to individual approach that all the staff of the former Driftwood Motor Lodge offers. It reminds me of a Country Inn I stand at in Georgia. The homemade cookie, the breakfast offerings and the personable approach that each of the staff takes with each situations can make you feel as thought you are staying at the "Petticoat Junction," minus the lazy uncle in the overalls. At the end of the Maddox stripe, across from Mc Donalds and down from the Refuge Inn, it is my impression that can not beat the locations for the costly homes behind it and the team approach the staff employ in every aspect/issue that came my way, To be fact with you, I enjoyed so much I rearranged my plans to stay at a a 5 star resort in D.C. to stay an additional night with these folks. I would be surprised if you were no given the same attention during your stay,

Room Tip: the lower number on each of the three will likely give you a better view of the sound that is across...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvillerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Best Western Chincoteague Island many times and it seems it just keeps getting better and better. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very clean, and well laid out. The staff is as very friendly and helpful as can be. And the location is ideally situated for access to the Wildlife Refuge and the town of Chincoteague. They have a great picnic area behind the hotel in a shady grove of trees which we find to be an ideal place to relax and enjoy some of the great seafood from the area, picnic style.
And, with a nice selection of breakfast fare, it generally is quite a bargain.
As far as I am concerned, it is THE only place to stay on the Island.

Room Tip: The third floor has the best views and is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean place. Very friendly staff at checkin. Could easily hear hotel guests walking across floor in the room above mine (night and morning), and also some persons speaking in the room next door. Still overall a positive review considering everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwb7405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I consider this BW our sure thing quick get-a-way spot.We love to ride our bikes around the wildlife refuge and this BW is the closest hotel, motel, or B&B to the refuge.We are always well-treated and well taken care of here: comfy beds, very clean rooms, and a light early morning breakfast that is perfect for cyclists who want to grab a bite and get going. We lock our bikes to the rack out back and they are very safe there.

Room Tip: All the rooms either have a balcony or if on the ground floor a little place to sit. There is an el...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
980 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $83 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing