We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, closest to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place, closest to beach”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

very nice hotel, best hotel breakfast ever, food was fresh and tasty. rooms were clean, staff was very helpful. would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    221
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
464
427
50
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This Best Western was a clean, well-managed facility where each member of the staff seemed to take customer service as their personal mantra. Whether it was the front desk or the cleaning crew, each staff member seemed quite happy to be working here, and working for you.

The rooms were generous in size and spotless, each with a balcony facing the marshes of the National Wildlife Refuge (this is the closest hotel to the National Park and excellent beach). Breakfast was more varied than I had expected, and while the breakfast room (nook) was small, there were plenty of outdoor tables right off the main lobby.

You can even see the occasional space launch from the Wallops Island spaceport a few miles away from your bedroom balcony. Can you name another hotel from which you can watch rockets fly? I can't.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the east side of the hotel, upper floors (2nd or 3rd). You'll have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Best Points:
- Closest to Chincoteage wild life refuge.
- Friendly staff.
- Very pleasant environment.
- Comfortable and spacious rooms. You'll get a really good sleep.
- McDonalds across the street.
- Walkable night time surroundings.
- Reasonable prices.
- Parking available at ease.

Points to consider:
- If you are with very young children/ infants you might find yourself in trouble at complimentary breakfast. Dining area is very too small and it is hard to accommodate small children who tend to speak out loud and there is only one high chair available. Either leave your children in room and go for breakfast or be ready for embarrassment.
- I wish there was a play room for children.

Room Tip: Ground floor is most accessible for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeelahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The best Best Western I've stayed in and pretty much one of the best hotels I've stayed in full stop. Lovely big room with a balcony and a view over to the Assateague Lighthouse and the wildlife refuge. Room was spotless, as was rest of hotel. Great selection at breakfast (hot and cold) and the cookies on check in, the newspaper every day and the lemonade available all day were all really nice extra touches. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
They have bikes for rent, a decent laundry room and a nice looking pool area too. Hotel is also the closest one to the wildlife refuge. Lots of restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive.
Would go back in an instant. Can't be faulted.
(Museum next door was really interesting too.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is closest to the wildlife refuge and the ponies. In fact, with binoculars I saw a few ponies in the early evening from our balcony, and all the balconies have a view of the Assateague Lighthouse. It's next door to the island museum which has interesting artifacts and island history, including the stuffed Misty of Chincoteague and her offspring, Stormy. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large and attractively decorated, beds are comfy, and it had a refrigerator and microwave. The staff is very helpful and friendly. When I mentioned that this visit was our wedding anniversary, they thoughtfully delivered a flower and a small bottle of champagne. The complimentary breakfast is excellent, with scrambled eggs, meat and warm biscuits, plus fruit, waffle and pancake machine, cereal, yogurt, bagels, etc. It's reasonably priced; check the Best Western website for the best rate as you might qualify for discounts not available through Expedia or others. I saved 20% over Expedia with an advance purchase discount.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chumley1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We would definitely return to this hotel. We had a nice room with a screened balcony overlooking the wildlife area. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and linens, large flat screen tv, and excellent a/c. There is an elevator to the upper floors. Our room had extra amenities not always found in mid-price range hotels. While the hotel is not new, the entire property is very clean, well kept and maintained. The staff was the best - they made us feel welcome at check-in and throughout our stay.

The hotel is located a short drive from the entrance to the Virginia entrance to the Assateague Island National Seashore. In the neighborhood – literally a few steps next door or across the street - you’ll find a museum, McDonalds, a family restaurant, and even a fenced wooded lot where you can feed ponies for 25 cents (trough feed not hand feed). There were two foals kicking up their heels when we visited in early June.

On Chincoteague Island, we felt we stepped back in time to a resort town of the past. We really enjoyed the small town, less developed feel of the island with its mom and pop stores and restaurants. We had a fun, short stay and would highly recommend not only this hotel but also Chincoteague Island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackLab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was lovely. It was right at the entrance to the wildlife area and the beach. The room was good size with very comfortable beds. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The pool and the grounds were well maintained and very lovely. The island was so cute and beautiful, I will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suntraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#8 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Property: Best Western Chincoteague Island
Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing