We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were so pleased with our 2-night stay here. Extremely close to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. Rooms large, extremely clean and very quiet. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful. For the $, it is a real gem. We would love to come and stay again. The rooms have a little balcony, one can eat breakfast outside in a little courtyard area. You will have no worries if you book a stay here! ENJOY.

Room Tip: choose a room on the 3rd floor with a view of the lighthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arriba1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

It really is the closest hotel to the beach! The rooms are so clean and comfy! Joan at the front desk was extra helpful. She really went out of her way for us! We will definately stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any rooms here that arent awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandeemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our grand-daughters and there parents stayed for Memorial Day weekend. It is the closest hotel to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. The rooms are large and accommodating. The staff from the front desk on, were there to make your stay a very memorable one. If you can have a vacation with two four year olds and never run out of things to do it was great. They had such a great time can't wait to go back. This is one of our best hotels of choice. This will probably be a yearly vacation to look forward to from now on.

Room Tip: The Papa John room was great if you have a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is our second 4-day stay here in two years. Both times our rooms have been absolutely spotless, the staff friendly and helpful, and the bountiful breakfast got the day started off right. There is the option of having your breakfast outside in a little garden area, which we used every day. The 2-room suite with connecting doors is perfect for families. Large rooms, ample fluffy towels, two baths and plenty of beds (no rollaways) make the suite an outstanding choice. Located just before the Assateague National Park, getting to the beach was a breeze. The very inexpensive bike rentals make exploring on 2 wheels a great option. The only down side was that our mini vacation came to an end! I highly recommend this well-run establishment!

Room Tip: The 2-room suite is an excellent choice for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel for its wonderful customer service, cleanliness, balconies facing lighthouse and yummy free breakfast. Since we have children and can't stay at bed and breakfasts this is a great option. The Papa John suite is perfect for kids who still nap. We can put kids to bed early in separate bedroom and not feel like we are tiptoeing around.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAdulles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We visited Chincoteague Island for 4 days and could not have found a more perfect motel than this Best Western. It's the last motel on the main road, right before the entrance to the Assateague National Park. Our small deck looked out over the marshland that borders the park. Even in the fog the views were terrific. The motel staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The room was one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in, in any motel. From towels to breakfast choices to shower pressure, it was all perfect. I'd never stay anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room...the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachersue46400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Best Western for a long weekend mid May. The hotel was great and the staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean, well appointed and comfortable. The shower had fabulous water pressure and the towels were nice and thick! The breakfast was one of the best "included" breakfasts I've had. I always book hotels with "included" breakfasts for the convience. They had the standard bagels, danish, yogurt and cereal but also had make your own waffles and pancakes. Each day there was a selection of hot offerings also. The first day was creamed chip beef and biscuits, then scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Chincoteague! My only suggestion is to request a room on the top floor. We were on the first floor and had a view of the parking lot (which wasn't a big deal since we spent very little time in the room) and there was some foot step noise from the floors above. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkrusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $67 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing