We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were greeted by Joan who was very welcoming. She could not have been more helpful suggesting places to eat and see. She assured us someone is on duty twenty-fours if we need anything. We are within walking distance of two nice restaurants. The hotel offers a full breakfast, free parking and complimentary chocolate chip cookies. The bed is very comfortable with extra pillows. The room is very clean and smelled fresh, which is alway an important issue. If I needed to complain about anything it would be the lack of a real close and a tiny bathroom with a light that is so bright it hurts your eyes. The room is equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot, but it's nestled under the coat rack which is a little strange. The price was excellent and would recommend it.

Room Tip: It's January so there is no traffic or is the hotel crowded so I am not sure what the noise leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Its literally walking distance to Assateague Island and the Wild Ponies. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very friendly and the location is ideal. We have been there twice and intend to visit twice next year (2012). The hotel is very clean. The breakfast is okay but you might want to take a break from it if you're there for a week.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnCI, Front Office Manager at Best Western Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel. It is a pleasure having you here! We look forward to seeing you again in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Overallt this hotel is excellent. Free parking, breakfast and wifi, lovely staff, very clean, and it's the closest to assateague island too. Breakfast was nice cereals, eggs, sausages, toast, bagels, some muffins and pastry, fruit and yoghurt too. Hotel also has a computer with printer for guest use. Overall I give it 5 out of 5, service I only gave a 4 for three reasons. Firstly, the wifi only worked once in our room (343). It did work closer to reception however. I phoned the tech guys to sort it which they apparently did but unfortunately it still didn't work. None of the staff offered any kind of help with this and didn't seem too bothered it wasn't working. Secondly, no HBO as stated on website - not a massive problem as lots of other channels but might disappoint some. and thirdly, we wanted to hire a bike as it was a nice day but the man on front desk told us they were locked up and didn't seem able or willing to go and unlock 2 from the shed for us. Disappointing as they shouldn't advertise them as available if they are not. But, these are minor jiggles would definitely stay here again if returning, just not room 343!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnCI, Front Office Manager at Best Western Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the wifi at our property. It can be quite frustrating. I also apologize for the poor service you received in regards to bicycle rentals. During the winter, we pull our bicycles from rental for service in preparation for the next season. I am sorry my staff made it appear that we didn't feel like pulling the bike out of the shed. Our bikes are actually out of commission right now. Thank you for reminding us about the rental signs -- we have pulled them from our guestrooms until the bikes are back in service. I am also sorry HBO was giving you trouble. Our cable televison provider can be a bit slack on service sometimes. Please don't hesitate to let our Front Desk staff know of any problems. We will do our best to repair the issue. If I can provide you with any assistance, please give me call. Hope you have a great 2012 and come back to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This hotel is outstanding. The rooms are large, well funished, the beds and pillows great! The service was great, and the breakfast was the best one We have had at a hotel. I know I got a great price due to the season, but even if I had paid more it would have been worth it.

Room Tip: Chincoteague Wildlife reserve is less than 1 mile away, and has lots of birds, horses, and other wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLPSanAntonio_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnCI, Front Office Manager at Best Western Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We hope you will get the opportunity to come back again soon! Merry Christmas! Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is our favorite place to stay on Chincoteague. The location is ideal as it is very near the entrance to the National Wildlife Refuge for great wildlife watching and hiking and convenient access to the beach.
The rooms are always very clean, comfortable, and cozy. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to be helpful. The swimming pool is well kept and the view of the salt marsh and Assateague Island is delightful. Rental bikes are available at the hotel and the island is a great place to go touring on bikes. The breakfast area is always well kept and the food is tasty. And, the landscaping around the hotel is downright beautiful.
There are lots of things to do on the island and the nearby beach on Assateague Island is beautiful and unspoiled with no commercial development or boardwalk. Just lots of birds and wildlife to see and one area for safe swimming with lifeguards on duty in the summer.
Chincoteague is a "make your own fun place", not a fake commercialized version like many other beach resorts. It's all real and The Best Western Chincoteage Island puts you right in the middle of all this natural beauty.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have great views and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We originally chose this hotel because it's the closest to the entrance to Assateague Island National Seashore, but it's become our regular hotel every time we return to the island (now six times). The rooms are spacious and spotless, and there are lots of nice amenities like cookies at check-in, free breakfast on the outdoor patio (in season—otherwise inside), and bicycles available for rent. What really makes this hotel special, though, is the staff, who always make us feel like they're genuinely glad we're there. Our only quibble is that the WiFi is fairly weak (even after I've mentioned this on several visits). This is actually often true of hotels in resort areas.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParkAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in order to be close to the wildlife refuge, and we were very satisfied. I noticed when making a reservation that the "poolside rooms" cost $10 extra, and I reserved a non-poolside room. It appears that poolside rooms have a somewhat better view. All rooms face the same direction, but non-poolside rooms are directly across the street from McDonalds, while the non-poolside rooms are directly across from open marsh. I think it would have been worth the $10 to be on the poolside, but I'd rather have a 3rd floor non-poolside room (which we had), than a 1st floor poolside room.
The extra touches I liked were chocolate chip cookies on check-in, a free USA Today delivered to the door, even on Saturday, and hot apple cider in the lobby. The room was perfect, with coffee maker, refrigerator, ironing board, and a vanity area separate from the bathroom.

Room Tip: Poolside, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arrendajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $67 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing