We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in a beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

In August, 2011, my daughter and I spent a few days on Chincoteague Island. I chose the Best Western because it seemed to offer the perfect combination of amenities, location, and price. We were not disappointed. The first thing you see when you drive up is the lush vegetation and a beautiful covered porch that serves as a place to eat breakfast and relax. The room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is located within sight of the entrance to Assateague Seashore, which we felt was the perfect place to be. There is a bike rental located right behind the hotel. Parking was never a problem, and you are just one quick car ride to any spot on the island. The staff was very friendly, as well. We loved the Best Western and recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susieq98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Chincoteague Island is a wonderful vacation spot and the Best Western was a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ajc0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Our first stay at this hotel and we weren't dissappointed. The front desk staff was great - they even had flowers and a champagne bottle in our room to celebrate our anniversary. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable. The choices for the breakfast - served daily were amazing...fresh fruits/yogurts/waffles/cereal/muffins/bacon, etc. always hot and plenty to choose from. We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coqui59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is VERY clean and the staff is beyond lovely!! Our children enjoyed the outdoor poll and the breakfast in the morning was good and very well maintained. There is a small indoor area to sit or outdoor tables. We received a military/govt rate of $150 for two double beds on a Sun night. It is right across the street from McDonalds and there are some ponies begind McDonalds. It is at the entrance to the park and my husband jogged to it and back in the morning and loved that. This town was so much more then we expected and we are already raving about it to our frinds/family and will be back. That being said "This is not a resort" it is an old fashioned hotel and the door to your room is outside. We were totally ok with that and again it is well maintained. We had a great view of the lighthouse from our balcony. Make sure you do a boat tour when you are in this adorable town. We did the Chincoteague Cruise with Charlie and LOVED it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Chincoteague Island is a great place for a family vacation, and this place is as close as you can get to the forest and beach of Assateague without the hassle of a tent and bug bites. Situated just before the bridge to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, this hotel offers you a comfortable base from which to access the refuge and the beach by foot, bicycle, or car. Our room was clean and attractive with beds we almost didn't want to get out of, separate sinks inside and outside the bathroom and a wall to shield the bedroom area from the bathroom lights. Good TV reception, full breakfast (with freshly made scrambled eggs), plenty of parking, and on-site or nearby bike rentals. The landscaping included beautiful flowers around the pool, and tropical plants brought an island feel to a covered outdoor dining/lounge area. There are plenty of good restaurants a short drive away, a McDonald's across the street, and a small cafe next door (which we didn't try). A warm cookie at the reception area would have really topped off this stay....but I know that the fresh fruit that was always available was a much better choice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheWorldWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My sisters and I stayed here for a long weekend vacation. The room was very nice, perfect for the four of us, and very comfortable! The balcony overlooked the pool and had a great view of the Assateague Lighthouse. The free continental breakfasts were delicious, and there was more than enough food for all of the guests who showed up. The staff members we had the pleasure of dealing with were all very helpful and very courteous. One of the best parts of the stay was the delicious lemonade that was available around-the-clock in the hotel lobby. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again (and again and again)!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank col0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for one night, the location is good for quick access via bike to the preserve. The bike rental was great and saved us from bringing ours along! However, the costs associated with the room were quite high for a Sunday night. In addtion, there was no flat screen TV in the room, being a somewhat high-end hotel I thought they would have upgraded by now. The breakfast was OK, pretty much standard fare...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $77 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing