We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed four nights at the Hampton Inn on Chincoteague (July 16-20) and had zero complaints. Based on earlier reviews we made sure to book a waterview room and got 316, which had a nice corner balcony (see photos for the view). Very pleasant to sit out there, especially at sunset or in the morning with that first cup of coffee before heading down to breakfast. The resident duck families are very entertaining to watch.

The help-yourself breakfast buffet was mostly cold selections (fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt) but there was a different hot selection every morning and a toaster for bagels, english muffins, etc. Just right to get us going in the morning, and the outdoor seating area on the waterfront was quire pleasant.

Our room was spacious and clean, and the in-room fridge/microwave/coffee maker were really handy for those times when we wanted to lounge on the balcony with drinks & snacks.

As others noted, the location is very convenient to walk to the shops and restaurants on Main Street (including Muller's Old Fashioned Ice Cream Parlor -- the fresh peach sundae is to die for!).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank puggeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Hampton on Chincoteague just to getaway for a few days and relax. The hotel was clean and staff were friendly and courteous. We had a waterfront balcony which was a great place to start the day with a cup of coffee as well as end the day with a glass of wine. The in-room coffee pot was a nice touch as well as the refrigerator and microwave. (I did end up buying a CI coffee mug because I hate drinking out of styrofoam--).
The hotel was a short walk to restaurants and shops. We enjoyed Bill's and Don's (but be sure to make reservations for Bill's!). Only wish we'd stayed a few more days!
The Assateague beach was gorgeous. Plenty of space and parking, not to mention bathroom facilities and changing rooms. My husband fished (not much biting) and I hung out under the umbrella reading and watching the dolphins swim by.
I would definitely recommend the Hampton Inn- clean, reasonably priced, and breakfast in the morning! Just bring your own mug.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I choose Hampton Inn when possible because, up until our stay at this one on Chincoteague Island, I felt the quality and price were among the best.
I had no hesitation in going in, paying $169 for a room, and going out to eat before even going to the room. I must say I was severely disappointed when we finally went in the room.
The furniture was worn, the carpet looked dirty, everything was very below average for any Hampton Inn I've visited in TN, GA, AL, SC, or NC. The direct web site to the hotel says it was rated the second best Hampton Inn in the country in 2004, 2006, and 2007. It was first in 2005.
In my opinion, it was the worst Hampton I've ever stayed in, and would have left had it not been so late when we finally saw the room. We had planned on spending 2 nights there, but left early the next morning because of the conditions and view.
Please look at the photos of the view from our room, 120. The lady at the desk was nice when she said there was only one room left, and it's view was worse than ours.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DenaTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Delightful staff, spotless facility, delicious real breakfasts, spacious rooms with gorgeous views, mini fridges, microwaves, heated indoor pool with spa, walking distance to lots of stuff. My kids loved it. The staff was friendly, cheerful, helpful. It's vacation, and the breakfasts are included so to us, it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LSinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Great hotel. Very convenient location and beautiful setting. We stayed in one of the king whirlpool suites and the balcony was wonderful. Beautiful view over the bay (even saw a fireworks display from a town across the bay). Having the large selection at breakfast was great (although some of the 'hot' food was a bit cold). Very classy breakfast room/lounge with a nice dock overlooking the water. Overall, an excellent hotel.

We haven't stayed at the Comfort Suites next door, so we can't compare, but all the rooms in the Hampton Inn have some sort of water view. It looked like many of the Comfort Suites rooms faced the parking lot and lacked the spacious balconies of the Hampton Inn rooms.

We also haven't stayed at the Best Western or the Refuge Inn, but what sets the Hampton Inn apart from those hotels is its location on Chincoteague's Main Street. The Best Western and Refuge Inn are at the end of Maddox Blvd. and a bit closer to the Wildlife Refuge and Beach, but still a drive from the Refuge (saving you only a few minute drive over the Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites). You can be in the main part of Chincoteague's nice "downtown" in only a two block walk from Hampton Inn.

There was a bit of a wait if you wanted to use the elevator b/c there was only one and it was often in use by the cleaning crew, but because the hotel only has 3 floors, it isn't that big of a deal.

We had a very relaxing vacation there. I would highly recommend AJ's for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv4outdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed here on July 2, 2007 in a third floor room. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The staff was pleasant and helpful in suggesting local restaurants and directions. Breakfast was included and the staff kept all items fully stocked at all times. No complaints whatsoever and the beds were very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbopilot231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed last Saturday at the Hampton Inn on Chincoteague and just loved it. Beautiful grounds, gorgeous view on the back deck, walked to dinner in town, and one of the best night's sleep we had on a week long jaunt through the Eastern Shore.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Thumbs up all the way around.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bicoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $109 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing