We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
1 review
“What a fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We are from Ottawa Canada and had a houseboat vactation booked but the weather was so bad we cancelled and took a road trip instead. We simply picked Chincoteague as it was the closest place on the coast with good weather. What a special place. Our visit was further enhanced by staying at this wonderful Hampton. If you book you will not be disapointed. There is a reason it has been voted top Hampton Inn in the country and it has won this award 4 or 5 times during past few years. Spacious, clean well appointed rooms, all with balconies. We travelled with our 3 kids and they loved it. You can spend the day at the beach or hang by the pool at the hotel. Fantastic is all I can say and the staff were remarkable attending to your every need. Breakfast included. Wow!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCanada123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    153
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
443
504
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Usually we avoid chain hotels while on vacation, but this is a wonderful Hampton Inn.
Clean, attractive, great views, lovely staff. It was a treat!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SewellNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

None of the hotels on the island are bona fide 5 star. However, this hotel is the absolute best on the island. It's got a great location; it's clean; it's has great staffing. We got last minute reservations in Room 121, which was a side view. The hotel is quiet and well run. The outside deck is great for fishing or reading, etc.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PNMLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend just for a simple R&R weekend. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. All the rooms are waterfront, and we had a suite: Huge balconies and lots of room, the double queen beds are very comfortable. To us, it's the best hotel in town. Breakfast is plentiful for what we normally eat. The staff are nice and helpful. The pool is a little small but is very nice: towels are provided in the pool. We checked out a little past 11:00 am because my little girl did not want to leave the pool but the staff was as nice as they could be. Everything looks and feels clean, and that's hard to beat. Went out on Captain Barry's cruise - weather was nice and he was informative. Went out on the Explorer cruise, weather was lousy and there were no horses to be found - so that's disappointing, especially for the little one, since that's all she talked about for the past week!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationSeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Visited the island for the first time for an anniv celebration. Had booked at another independent hotel because of good reviews it rec'd on this site and the price was $25 cheaper. So, took a chance and the accomadations were not acceptable. So, headed to the Hampton Inn. Only have great things to say about this hotel. Rooms were great! Staff was very friendly, hotel was immaculate, breakfast selection was good, location of hotel was perfect for walking to area shops and such. Note: They installed 35" LCD TV's during our stay. Overall, absolutely wonderful experience and will stay here if we ever return to the island. For the slightly higher price, def worth it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here for Easter weekend and were very impressed with the entire hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were well equipped with both microwave and fridge and the beds were very comfortable. The indoor pool was actually heated and a huge hit with the kids! The free breakfast was amazing with french toast, sausage, eggs, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit! The coffee bar was free and open 24 hours a day! Free parking, great location and clean, clean, clean!

We only had one complaint - They were not able to accomodate our request for side by side rooms even though we booked our rooms 3 months in advance and under the same last name - so be careful if you are traveling with children to split them up with an adult in each room (we were not even on the same floor together which was frustrating).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfamilyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have had. The room was very welcoming and had just a great feel to it. Nice balcony with sunset view. The staff COULD NOT have been any nicer. Breakfast was just right, for our needs. All in all, very excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing