We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

None of the hotels on the island are bona fide 5 star. However, this hotel is the absolute best on the island. It's got a great location; it's clean; it's has great staffing. We got last minute reservations in Room 121, which was a side view. The hotel is quiet and well run. The outside deck is great for fishing or reading, etc.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank PNMLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend just for a simple R&R weekend. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. All the rooms are waterfront, and we had a suite: Huge balconies and lots of room, the double queen beds are very comfortable. To us, it's the best hotel in town. Breakfast is plentiful for what we normally eat. The staff are nice and helpful. The pool is a little small but is very nice: towels are provided in the pool. We checked out a little past 11:00 am because my little girl did not want to leave the pool but the staff was as nice as they could be. Everything looks and feels clean, and that's hard to beat. Went out on Captain Barry's cruise - weather was nice and he was informative. Went out on the Explorer cruise, weather was lousy and there were no horses to be found - so that's disappointing, especially for the little one, since that's all she talked about for the past week!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationSeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Visited the island for the first time for an anniv celebration. Had booked at another independent hotel because of good reviews it rec'd on this site and the price was $25 cheaper. So, took a chance and the accomadations were not acceptable. So, headed to the Hampton Inn. Only have great things to say about this hotel. Rooms were great! Staff was very friendly, hotel was immaculate, breakfast selection was good, location of hotel was perfect for walking to area shops and such. Note: They installed 35" LCD TV's during our stay. Overall, absolutely wonderful experience and will stay here if we ever return to the island. For the slightly higher price, def worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here for Easter weekend and were very impressed with the entire hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were well equipped with both microwave and fridge and the beds were very comfortable. The indoor pool was actually heated and a huge hit with the kids! The free breakfast was amazing with french toast, sausage, eggs, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit! The coffee bar was free and open 24 hours a day! Free parking, great location and clean, clean, clean!

We only had one complaint - They were not able to accomodate our request for side by side rooms even though we booked our rooms 3 months in advance and under the same last name - so be careful if you are traveling with children to split them up with an adult in each room (we were not even on the same floor together which was frustrating).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfamilyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have had. The room was very welcoming and had just a great feel to it. Nice balcony with sunset view. The staff COULD NOT have been any nicer. Breakfast was just right, for our needs. All in all, very excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel was an incredible place to stay we truely enjoyed the Staff and rooms were excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting area. Breakfast was very good and staff was very helpful in locating good restuarants and ice cream.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Solid Hampton Inn experience. As usual, there was a free hot breakfast, free wireless internet, a spotless room and a comfortable bed. This particular Hampton Inn is in a good location - walking distance to shops and eateries on Main Street, and a great view for the rooms in the back. There was a notice on the menu board outside that they were top-rated hotel among other Hampton Inns, but I wasn't able to verify that.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $103 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing