We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hampton Inn I've stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hampton Inn I've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is very well run - spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient staff, and a view of the water that can't be beat. I like the fact that the staff called me to tell me that I had received a complimentary upgrade due to being a return guest. The breakfast bar is continually stocked and the food is good. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 267alicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    153
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
443
504
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've been to Chincoteague for long weekends 5-6 times over the years and have stayed at a range of hotels, motels and house rentals. The Hampton Inn is definitely one of the more high end options there; significantly more expensive, but quite nice. Our room was big, with a microwave, kitchen sink and fridge. The service was consistently friendly and helpful and the breakfast had a large range of food options. There is a small gym, which we used, and adjacent indoor pool, which looked very nice. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We were in room 318, which is on the side of the building - on the lower floors, I think the view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M&CMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent hotel. Maybe a little pricey but you get what you pay for I guess. Management always on site. Excellent breakfast. Views of the bay. Pool very clean. No complaints. You do have to drive to get to the beach because its on Assateague Island, but this is the same with all hotels in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been to Chincoteague 3 times, and have stayed at a different hotel every time. This hotel has been the best by far, and we don't want to stay anywhere else now! Very helpful and friendly staff, and an immaculate room. We were very pleased, and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank goodboie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice hotel within the Old town and walking distance to multiple of restaurants, movie theater and gift shops, etc. Nice hot complimentary breakfast but no restaurant within the hotel.
The hotel is approximately 10 minutes, by car, away from the wonderful Assateague's Atlantic beach and the Fish and Wildlife park.

Reason for only average for cleanliness was "french fry" next to the couch, and still there the day after although front desk was notified the the first day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the channel and you might see dolphins but remember to turn of the A/C unit if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013TheSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very close drive to NASA visitors center and the beach! walking distance to some restaurants but drove to others. Hotel is great for a nice relaxing environment. Complimentary breakfast really helped make the day start off smooth. Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and made recommendations for seafood restaurants. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I don't know how old this property is but it looks brand new. It's open, bright, cheerful and clean. The landscaping at the entrance is beautiful and very welcoming. The front desk staff, whether we were coming or going, were always friendly and ready with a hi. All the staff at this hotel are friendly and welcoming.

I really came to appreciate how nice this property is after visiting my sister who stayed next door at the Quality Inn which I found to be dark, dank and a bit tired. One night I went over to visit with her family at the indoor pool but the room reeked of either bromide or chlorine so I didn't stay.

Our room was nicely decorated and clean! The bed was super comfortable and I loved the white sheets / duvet. Beautiful view overlooking the bay, especially at sunset, and there was plenty of room to stretch out even with luggage, coolers and beach gear. Plenty of towels, lots of storage. It was nice having a microwave, fridge and coffee pot in the room. The nightlight in the bathroom was a bonus!

We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, coffee and fruit in the lobby. Breakfast is generous -- eggs, cereal, oatmeal, make your own waffles (very popular!), fruit, yogurt... you will not leave hungry.

Really sad to leave, I wish we could have stayed longer. Terrific stay, look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Our room faced the bay but there are some rooms on an angle that face the Quality Inn -- you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasAMC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing