We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay on Chincoteague Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you've read any of my other reviews, you know I always seek out luxury. There are no five star resorts on Chincoteague Island. The Hampton Inn is the closest that you are going to get to luxury, which ain't bad at all! The good: the VIEW (there is a secret to getting a room with the best view), the staff ( this is VA, so you get southern hospitality and charm), the uncrowded pool, the peace and quiet, and the FREEBIES (breakfast, fresh fruit in the morning, cookies in the evening, and WiFi) . These are why I like Hilton properties, and there is a reason that this property sports so many 'Conrad' awards from the home office. The only reasons I held back from giving an excellent grade: no in-room safe as mentioned in literature, the decor in the room was shooting for 'cape cod' it just came off as a bit dated, our A/C unit leaked all over our carpet (but fixed promptly), and our room was a tiny bit pricey for the top-of-the-line room I booked. I highly recommend you opt for the top room though, as you get a more spacious room, a nice Jacuzzi, and the best view on the property from your balcony. Ask for room 309 or 310; if your wallet can bear it, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for room 309 or 310; if your wallet can bear it, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful mini-vacation spent on Chincoteague Island. This hotel was perfect for our family of 5. We stayed in the waterfront room that had a view of the Chincoteague Bay. We enjoyed watching the sunset on the bay during our stay. The room was clean and spacious. We liked that there were a mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The complimentary breakfast was better than a continental breakfast with make your own waffles, fresh fruit, hot items such as sausage and eggs. The hotel also offers hot coffee, tea and cocoa 24 hours a day. Awesome! We brought our bikes and rode around the island. There are bike racks at the hotel so you can lock up your bikes. The hotel is in walking distance of historic downtown. Bill's Seafood is a must for dinner and The Flying Fish is an eclectic gift shop featuring local artist. Absolute must is going to the Assasteague Island and spending a day or more at the Wildlife Refuge. We saw the ponies. It is beautiful there. If you plan on hiking during the summer, bring bug spray. That is a must too.

Room Tip: I would recommend to pay extra for the waterfront rooms. It's a nice view to wake up too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff were wonderful, very friendly and attentive! The property is on the water, with lots of seating outside which was nice for breakfast at sunrise and snacks at sunset. The pool and whirlpool were clean and inviting, most of the time, we were the only ones in them. The breakfast was excellent, a lot to chose from and varied from day to day, the fresh fruit was the best! Free coffee/hot tea/hot chocolate all the time, and cookies in the evening. I would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great time. Close to beach and ponies. We went bike riding. Saw a moon rock at the Nasa center Hotel was great. Great pool, breakfast and beds. Great Staff. Can say to many good things about this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband stayed here during our annual trip for the seafood festival. This is no doubt the finest hotel on the beach. Clean rooms, refreshing pool and hot tub. They have an exercise room as well. All staff members were very friendly. Daily breakfast with hot foods as well as cereal and fresh fruit. Many choices even for the pickiest eater. Hot fresh cookies daily.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sable20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed in dozens of Hampton Inns all over the country. This is by far the nicest and cleanest we have ever seen. It is in a great location with a terrific view of the sound and within easy walking distance of the Main Street shops and restaurants. The staff is helpful and friendly and eager to assist in any way. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

nice family hotel that is conveniently located. close to restaurants but away from the side of the island that caters to the beach crowd. we enjoyed the pool and the walk to the restaurants. The view was also great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $95 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing