We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Tuckerton, NJ
1 review
“Room View”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We always stay at a Hampton and always expect A+ service. This experience was no different. The service checking in and out was great as well as the breakfast the next day. Our only disappointment was we were expecting a view of the water but our first floor room faced an old fishing boat and another building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    166
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
468
539
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed there quite a few times in the last four years. My fiance and i enjoy a getaway from Annapolis for one night and maybe two. I was very disappointed to see that Hilton had an interior decorator come in and change the beautiful lobby and dining / lounge area. The openness of the breakfast area and the tile on the floor had been changed, to close off the incredible "million dollar" view... and the brown tile chosen is very dark and plain. The openness was so inviting ..... We had heard a couple of years ago that you were going to change things... maybe in larger cities, you can do these "makeovers", but not small towns. Chincoteague has a great history and this hotel is a "diamond in the rough". There was no need to make these changes. Had your designer noticed the curio cabinet in the lobby hallway with all of the awards that this hotel has won ??? It's sad that you make changes without the input from your customers, especially your Honors members. I would be surprised, if anyone that has stayed there before , like the poorly designed changes. The staff is excellent, rooms are excellent, ambiance is excellent... but the lobby / lounge changes are very very sad to see.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague is truly a great place to stay. For anyone who has been to Chincoteague Island VA before, you will know that hotels & motels are a very plentiful thing on the island. From Main St to Maddox Blvd there are hotels lining the streets. Although the choices are limitless, once you've stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites you will search no more. I've been going to Chincoteague with my family for many years. From cottages to rental home to hotels, the Hampton Inn is by far my favorite place to stay.
The hotel staff are some of the friendliest & most cheerful people I've come across in all my travels. Happy staff handing out warm cookies definitely gets me everytime.
From the Hampton, you are close to everything. There are tons of quaint shops and restaurants on Main St. that can easily be experienced on foot or even bicycle, which can also be rented. You are also only 2 miles from Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Asseateague Island, where you can lounge on the beach, swim, hike, bike or spot wild ponies.
If you choose to just sit & read or relax, then you have multiple places inside the hotel from the lobby to the back porch with relaxing chairs. The pool is always clean and welcoming here.
All in all, I would & do recommend this hotel to all my friends and family to experience whenever they visit Chincoteague Island...

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a water view so you can admire the stunning waterfront sunsets. Hampto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazyfcasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I just spent a relaxing weekend here and thought the place was outstanding! Everyone seemed to work overtime to make our stay the best experience possible. We will definately come back soon.

Room Tip: Although the bay side rooms have the best view, we found soom of the bay view rooms can also provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

All of the staff were absolutely welcoming and the hotel was very clean, modern, and it had all the ammenities we couldvery accomodating to all of our needs. The view was perfect. The pool, jacuzzi, and workout room were all clean.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are members of Hilton Honors. My partner and I booked this hotel for a nice Valentine stay on an Island for 2 nights. First, we had booked and paid in full the suite with hot tub and water front with balcony. We were greeted by 2 ladies wearing long dresses at the reception desk. Not the type people you would normally meet at a Hilton owned hotel or motel. Well, as they looked at us strangly, while checking us in the our king suite room. The lady stated she had upgraded us to this room. Our red flags were up from that point on. We have never felt so unwelcome at a motel in 18 years. The next morning on a table beside the reception was a magazine Named "M" (Volume 1 Issue 4) and the cover stated a "Brand New Day". and the article was on page 16. The title was "Onward Christian Activist". I proceed to read and was completely shocked by the nature of this article and the M magazine. I approached the reception and questioned this type magazine within a Hampton Inn. I asked if they were aware of this magazine. Nothing was done on a resquest to remove item, or reponse or access to the owner/manager. The next morning as we checked out, we noticed they had place a stack of these magazines on the tourist info table....... We were outta there.

Room Tip: The photos on website are very different than what the views are from the suite rooms. Looking at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location near the Wildlife Refuge. Very good breakfast but oddly the weekend version seemed a little better. Offseason the island has few businesses open, but we mainly wanted to see the Wildlife Refuge and NASA at Wallops Island, and neither were crowded.

Room Tip: Backside has views. Top floor would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShortStack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing