We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Perfect for Relaxation”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Arriving at this hotel just before sunset was perfect as we arrived just in time for a beautiful sunset from our balcony which faced the waterway separating the island from the mainland. The young lady at the front desk was friendly and obviously made it her goal to help guests enjoy their stay. Her tips about some nice nearby Christmas lights were spot on as were her pointers about island sightseeing and dining. Our oversized guest room had two queen beds plus a sleeper sofa which gave plenty of room to relax. The indoor pool and hot tub area were perfectly clean and well maintained and the breakfast area was inviting and offered a nice breakfast. The hotel is located on the water and there even is a boat dock for those arriving by boat and there are benches for enjoying the waterfront though it was a bit chilly for that during our stay. The entire hotel staff was super pleasant and we were impressed by the hard working maintenance man who always seemed busy tidying up the hotel and the grounds. Chincoteague is a super relaxing place and adjacent Assateague Island is an amazing wildlife refuge where Chincoteague ponies roam freely and vistors will see ducks, various species of birds and other wildlife. The wildlife refuge also sports attractive beaches on the Atlantic side of the island. Without a doubt this was the best Hampton Inn we have ever patronized.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel features rooms overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    168
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
481
542
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have stayed here before and enjoyed it. It overlooks the marsh and bridge to Chincoteague Island. It stays booked year round since it is located near the NASA Wallops facility and several related corporations, so make reservations! There is no 'off season'. A marsh front room is best. One side of the hotel overlooks a commercial fishing/oystering operation and the other side overlooks the Comfort Inn and Suites. (We have also stayed there, and it is nice too.) Every room should have some kind of water view, though. One nice thing--you can open a window! The breakfast area overlooks the marsh, and in warm weather you can eat outside.
The AC unit in the room was quiet.
The hotel is well maintained and nicely landscaped, with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing the marsh, on the second floor or above. (First floor, your balcony m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Hampton Inn is a nice, modern, new hotel on the island. It is not ocean front but then no hotels on the island are. Rather it is overlooking the inlet. We enjoyed watching the towns ducks each morning and evening following local fishing boats. The staff was very friendly and the hotel is nice and clean. Typical but delicious free breakfast fare. I just wish they had put a few extra dollars into better mattresses.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Hampton Inn at Chincoteague is a relatively new hotel in a lovely setting. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The desk clerks are friendly and helpful. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day and the complimentary breakfast is tasty and adequate.
Unfortunately the walls are a bit thin and guests can hear the sounds of showers running in adjacent rooms. In addition I was able to hear clearly the sounds of footsteps in the room above me.

Room Tip: If a waterfront view is desired select a room on the upper floors. The first floor view is crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weymann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

One of my favs. Free dinner on Wednesday nights from 5-7pm. Great view of Chesapeak Bay from balcony. Fruendly staff...very personal

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EODirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We'd never been to Chincoteague before and didn't know what to expect. We DID know that we wanted a room overlooking the water. Now, if you are expecting to be lulled to sleep by the ocean's waves, forget it. This hotel IS on the water and the room we had was VERY nice, but it overlooks more still, marsh-type water. It is still beautiful - just not your typical "beach stay". The staff was great. The room was spotless. The view was relaxing. You won't be disappointed. (We did have to board our 7-pound dog at a kennel in Princess Anne becasue they do not take pets.)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfc1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, our room was overlooking the bay behind the hotel.
The beds were wonderful, we both slept great, (not always the case sleeping in a strange bed). we barely noticed a sound at all from any other rooms.
We'd definitely stay here again,
there was avery nice hot breakfast available with a good selection of other options as well. The staff were very friendly, just a really nice hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spend1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing