We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just returned from a stay on Chincoteague Island. We had a wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn Waterfront. Beautiful bay view room, spotlessly clean, pleasant and helpful staff. Walking distance to downtown and all of the shops and galleries. Would stay here again upon my return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very nice hotel, the front desk staff was helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful. The location was great, just wish I had more time to spend there. One complaint ... my niece left her cell phone charger in the room, it would have been nice if the cleaning staff would have notified someone so we could have paid to have it shipped to us ... especially since we left a cash tip for the cleaning staff. :-(

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront - top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Do stay at this hotel. It is wonderful! The hotel is spotless, staff friendly, beds are comfortable, breakfast bar is fantastic (make your own waffles) , pool and hot tub crystal clear and the views are breathtaking!! Our room overlooked the causeway and waterways. It's on Main Street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, churches and the trolley stop is right there! You can tour the island without moving your car!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

we originally had reservations in an older hotel and couldn't stay because of my wife's severe allergies and asthma. this place had a vacancy and it was perfect!!!! Very clean, roomy, very good breakfast and extremely helpful and thoughtful hostess. She understood our last minute search for a room and made the arrangements immediately. All employees were extremely friendly and service was impeccable! when going to Chincoteague, would stay again. a little pricey - but you get what you pay for - excellent service, incredibly clean rooms and beautiful view of the sound! the only weakness was a relatively small and too chloriney indoor pool. But that wasn't important to us, so no big deal

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamoshanter1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Relaxing at the Chincoteague Hampton Inn and Suites is an understatement. This little island became the High Point of our D.C. vacation. The room was spacious and comfortable beyond our expectations. We had a water front suite with the balcony, definitely worth the extra money. The staff bent over backwards to help out with advice on where to eat and what were some of the best things to experience on the island. They helped me find a great boat tour to view the island and the pony's. We went with Island Tours out of the 4 they had recommended, and it worked out beautifully. The hotel manager was so attentive at breakfast (which was great) that I thought he may have owned the place. The indoor pool hours were also great 8am to 11 pm, great activity to tire out the kids after a day in the sun and climbing the lighthouse.

I hated to leave and fly back home, but I have to fund these little family adventures somehow. I sure will miss the Chincoteague Hampton Inn and Capt. Sandy with Island Tours. Maybe next year, we'll do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourbigdogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 3 days at this Hampton inn on the island and was not disappointed. Extremely clan and well kept! The staff was very helpful in recommending attractions and restaurants on the island. The room service was great. A breakfast was included which was just right. The only thing I would say was negative was that there was no ATM machine in the hotel and they only had an indoor pool. I am not a big fan of indoor pools but that's just me. Overall I would give this hotel a 9 on a scale of 1-10 and would recommend it if your going to Chincoteague island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June. The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. It was clean and quiet. Our room overlooked the hotel next door, but we had a small pond with ducks swimming on it right outside our room. After dinner we sat outside on the deck near the dock . It was very pleasant. Assateague Island is just a short drive from the hotel. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing