We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jamaica, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am a retired hotel general manager and most resort areas come with a less that sterling attitude towards visitors, NOT HERE. The employees go out of their way to greet, speak and offer to serve you . To have a housekeeper tell you, unsolicited, how great the hotel is and how proud she is to work there is certainly a refreshing change. This type of attitude runs throughout the hotel and is reflected in an outstanding physical appearance and product being offered. GREAT JOB all around.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with water views.
See more room tips
Green Features: They participate in the Chesapeake Bay conservation program.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1968JohnJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, General Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Excellent !! We take pride in not only our hotel, but in our island as well. We feel that it is our responsibility to give you the best experience possible and what a pleasure it is to hear that we have succeeded, especially from someone that is familiar with our line of work. I must agree that we all share a commitment to hospitality and reviews like yours only fuel us to continue on. If you're smiling so are we, and what a great feeling it is! Thank you again for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    240
    40
    7
    1
See reviews for
467
466
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The coffee at breakfast was hot and the inn is within an easy walk of Don's Seafood, which was long a favorite of my late wife and I. The national wildlife refuge is also reachable via a good fitness walk, too bad, though, that the Republicans had shut down the government, including the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the National Park Service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony deck.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good touch. I got the message quickly. I was careful with my bathroom towels and that is one area where the inn can make a difference.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had given up staying at Quality and Comfort Inns some time ago. This changed our mind. It is a very pleasant property, well-managed and maintained.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable - spacious enough to move around in. The view from the rooms - overlooking the water was very pretty. If you want to see the sunset from your room, ask for a room on the. Breakfast included a good variety and supplies were kept replenished even when the crowd hit the food line; fruit and coffee/tea were available all day. Very convenient location - walk to restaurants and other in-town attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and for giving our Choice Property a chance. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love the Comfort Suites there. This is our 3rd stay there and we will be back. Great views from the balconies. Staff is great. On our very !st stay my husband had a medical emergency and need to go to the hospital. The staff was very helpful getting help and had great concern for me. deetay1

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Reservation Specialist Cory at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It is so rewarding to receive such a positive respons regarding your most recent trip to Chincoteague Island. We are so pleased to assist you and your husband while you were on vacation here. We are looking forward to making your next stay here even better , your reservation is always #1 with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Check in at the front desk was a breeze and they even noticed my "Cookie Monster" cap which made us all laugh. Rooms were very clean and the breakfast had lots of selections. As a Choice member, I would have expected no less. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed a quick weekend escape from hectic work schedules and wanted a waterfront view. Booked the suite online the day before since we weren't sure that we would able to make the trip. Left Yorktown on a cloudy-windy Saturday afternoon late September and headed for the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. We stopped for a late lunch at our favorite seafood restaurant along the Eastern Shore, The Island House. Although the sun finally broke out it was too windy for a deck luncheon. Arrived at the CI Suites Chincoteague and were amazed at our waterfront suite. The corner suite had a wrap around porch, fireplace, Jacuzzi, and king size bed. Sunset views and 2 TVs to watch our favorite teams in tandem. Ran up to Ocean Downs Casino for the evening then back to "our condo on the water". The hotel offered a reduced discount for a Sunday stay over, so we took them up on the deal. We shared a plate of their breakfast buffet on our deck and watched the duck and seagull parade on a glorious day. Relaxed all day watching the Redskins finally pull out win! Then got the dreaded call that I had to be back to work that evening so we had to cut our stay short.

Room Tip: Next time we'll request upper floor suite. Had some noise issues from traffic, and guests above...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer many eco friendly choices. The wildlife (gulls and ducks) seem to like the environment!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneFreemanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sounds like the Presidental Suite was just what you needed. What a fantastic way for you to escape and unwind . Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate your business and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipsic, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were in the area visiting family and decided to check out Chincoteague for a couple of days. We were drawn to the feature of a balcony overlooking the water for a very reasonable cost. Our very first impression was the wonderful crew here. The crew at the front desk were warm and friendly. The housekeepers were friendly and thorough. The maintenance crew was hard working and engaged. They all really seemed to enjoy working here and it showed in the level of service. The room was very nice. The view was wonderful, the room was clean and everything worked as it should. The fitness room was a big step above what I expect. We got good advice for dinner here as well. Don't leave the island without trying the Seafood Dream and a cup of Clam Chowder at Don's just up the street. The Assateague Wildlife Refuge is a highlight on the trip as well. We will be back. thanks again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Chincoteague. My staff and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
748 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Property: Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing