We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had another night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lakeville, Mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had another night”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Loved the deck, couch in the room, and general feel. Grandkids loved the pool. Handy for visiting the National Seashore. Didn't see any ponies until we were back in town at the rescue center. But the shell collecting was great. Smart Minnesota Mama had brought jackets, hats and mittens so the children were warm enough and could run barefoot in the sand. Great memory.

Room Tip: Paying extra for the rooms on the bay is worth it!!! Incredible sunset, sunrise both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi there Smart Minnesota Mamma,
Now that the weather has warmed you can leave the mittens home..haha. Also those elusive ponies have been sighted everywhere since spring has finally sprung...there are new foals galore. May I suggest one of the many boat tours that specialize in finding the best views of the Ponies..When you come back we will personally help you pick just the right one. Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review of the Comfort Suites and Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    238
    40
    6
    1
See reviews for
455
457
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at Comfort Suites for a Mother/Daughter week-end getaway. The hotel was clean, the rooms were large, the hotel is within walking distance of many shops and attractions. There is a large, private deck outside of each room that was very relaxing. The room also included a refrigerator and microwave which comes in handy when traveling. The staff was very helpful with any questions and the complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus. We had just stayed at the Hilton in Virginia Beach the previous week-end and we were just so surprised how much nicer and more enjoyable the Chincoteague Comfort Suites hotel was in comparison. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velmasue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of the Comfort Suites. All of us at the Comfort Suites take great pride in where we work and live ; I am extremely pleased that you interacted with us so that we could help guide you to experience the Island in all her laid back, easy going glory. We hope you return soon and sit on the dock of the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is clean, fresh, well kept and good price/value. The staff was very helpful answering local questions and suggestions. Would recommend on return visit. Breakfast is very diverse and area kept clean.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor and no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

All of the rooms face the waterfront and have balconies which provided a beautiful view of the sunset each night. Our room was large with two queen beds and a sitting area with couch, chair, and desk. The room also had a microwave and mini fridge. There are several shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel also has an indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as an outdoor pool. There is also a nice area outside along the water for walking. The complimentary breakfast included your standard cereals, fruits, toast, and hot items such as eggs and bacon or biscuits and gravy. There are also two waffle makers. The exercise room is a good size with free weights, two treadmills, and an eliptical. We never really noticed any noise from other rooms or the hallway, so it was nice and quiet. The staff was so friendly. Only complaint would be that we could never get a strong wireless signal and was slow. Overall, it is a great hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I am soo glad that you were able to watch those great waterfront sunsets while you were staying with us...they truly are a daily inspiration for me and we are always happy to know that our guest get to enjoy them as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Comfort Suites. We hope you come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel on Chincoteage Island. Rooms and bathrooms are very large and have a balcony overlooking the waterway. Exceptionally clean with a very nice breakfast including two kinds of waffles, egg and sausage sandwiches, yogurt, muffins, cereal and fruit. Staff was very helpful. Walking distance to restaurants and downtown area. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

this is a nice hotel on the main street. all rooms are waterfront, but there is not much to see... the bridge and small islands. the rooms are big, not like bathrooms that are rather tight. breakfast is above average. could not make the wired internet work... while trying, learned they actually wireless. thank goodness!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We travel to Chincoteague at least once a year, and we always stay at the Comfort Suites! The first time we had the Presidential Suite which was amazing... but we just stayed there again this week, and it was the first time traveling with my daughter, who was at Chincoteague for the first time, and was very excited about the ponies... I mentioned this to the staff and when we arrived, there was a sign in the lobby that was welcoming my daughter and when we got in the room there was a postcard welcoming her with a stuffed pony!!!! What other hotel does that!!!! The room was a 2 queen bed suite, which was immaculately clean, close to the indoor pool (which was AMAZING) and the view of the sunset from our balcony was something out of a story!!! The staff here is beyond compare.... they are the most friendly and helpful staff you will ever find!!! You will NOT be disappointed if you stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedicManders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very thoughtful and nice review of the Comfort Suites. We are truly pleased that you had such a pleasant experience and hopefully we will see you and your daughter in the very near future. Warning...if you return for the Pony Swim it may not be a stuffed pony your daughter takes home..haha Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Property: Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing