We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome!”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We needed a place to stay, and the Refuge Inn had one room. While waiting for our room to be ready, we were granted access to the fitness center to change, the staff was amazing. Very helpful with our needs, and questions about the island. Would stay again in a minute, and would recommend to friends.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank BeckyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2010

Well run property. Clean, comfortable rooms. Very accessible to Assateague.
We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and I like to see new things and enjoy nature but seldom really enjoy the motels. Chain motels are all so "packaged". The Refuge Inn is different.. It is homey and welcoming. You feel like a guest. Every staff member you encounter is warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated with lots of extra touches to make you feel at home and very clean. Our room was overlooking the picnic area which offered a peaceful setting to enjoy a drink and watch nature go by. We saw a buck stroll across the yard and watched the antics of a black squirrel. The indoor-outdoor swimming pool was a real delight - very large, clean and deep enough to actually swim in a very pretty setting with lots of plants and comfortable chairs. The continental breakfast was appreciated as was the refrigerator in the room. When you talk about location, it could not get better. It is right across from the National Wild Refuge and Seashore. Bike rentals a join the property and good restaurants are near by. Thanksgiving weekend was a perfect time to visit. We are looking forward to returning in the spring and summer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this "B&B" for a night. The hotel is okay, definitely nothing extraordinary. The rooms are moderately-sized and furnishings are adequate. There are some vending machines and coin-operated washers and dryers which makes it convenient if you plan to stay here long. There's also an indoor swimming pool. Breakfast is included, but again, nothing spectacular by any stretch of the imagination, just some cold cereal, reconstituted orange juice, and store-bought pastries. I can best describe this place as average and adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdavidohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A little slice of heaven, near the beach and the refuge on Assateague Island. We had a Duck Stamp which allowed us access anytime we wanted onto Assateague Island. The folks who run this family owned business are the best hosts in town. The rooms are cozy, the beds soft and if you need something all you need to do is ask. Lots of great little restaurants nearby and some of the best bar-b-q around (Woody's) just a short hop away from the hotel. We highly recommend this place for everyone from singles to families.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdLadyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We had a great time at the inn, its proximity to the refuge made it a great place to relax during the downtime... The breakfast and room was excellent and the people were all very friendly. We brought our bikes and loves being so close to the bike-bath that goes through the refuge. This is an excellent non-chain hotel and we will certainly be back!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Just got back from 5 days on Chincoteague/Assateague, loved the location of this Motel. Overall, the property was fine - our group was comprised of two adults, two fourteen year olds. The kids loved seeing the ponies on site every day, the bike rentals are handy right there and it was terrific to drive right from the motel onto the wildlife refuge. The room was recently renovated, very clean, view of the pony pen/parking lot. The beds were comfortable, not quite as awesome as the beds at the Marriots we stayed at while traveling, but fine. The free WiFi was terrific, easily accessed and never failed. The continental breakfast satisfied everyone daily. Juice, coffee, cereals, fruit, milk, muffins, toast, english muffins or bagels. They also alternated either freshly made french toast or waffles every day. We never went off site for breakfast (considerable cost savings). The pool is a nice feature and there was a rooftop observation deck. The staff is very friendly and helpful, housekeeping was always quick with a smile or hello. They keep a basket of menus in the lobby for all the local restaurants and are happy to make recommendations. Overall a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. A nice alternative to the "chain" hotels. Good to support local business.

Chincoteague overall is inexpensive, not built up as a resort type area, more of a low key down to earth touristy area. Saw the ponies everyday in the Horse Marsh on the way to the beach. Daily beach pass is $5 per car or $15 for a week (7 day) pass. We took a drive up to Ocean City, MD one day (a little over an hour from the Refuge Inn) just to see the boardwalk and compare the beaches, etc. Much more built up at that end, more expensive - $15 per day to access the beach. But at that end, the ponies walk on the beach and the road and are more up close and personal. Overall we preferred the Chincoteague end. However, be warned, the mosquitos are a significant factor - once you are in the refuge, if you plan to walk/hike the trails or bike, be prepared to lather on the inspect repellant - it can be a bit much. Not a problem on the beach though (until the sun goes down).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dekenney59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $93 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing