We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refuge Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Chincoteague(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$140
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Chincoteague Island)
$55
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chincoteague Inn(Chincoteague Island)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterside Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Lighthouse Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Motor Inn Resort(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Chincoteague Island(Chincoteague Island)
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
799
203
27
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
799
203
27
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckgift shopfrench toastpony corraldecorated differentlypine treesdeluxe roomhot tubthe indoor outdoor poolparking lotbike rental shopcontinental breakfastright next doorrented bikeswaffleschincoteague poniesacross the bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

What can I say about the refuge Inn island vacation .. Second to none Great location, Had a blast in their pool Cleanest beach. Staff exceptional. Our housekeeping ladies always extended themselves beyond what is expected thank you girls We stayed in room 219 so you know who you are !!!
..Second year & it gets better all the time.. Feeling comfortable in our island retreat!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doffy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! I've shared your thanks with Ms. Dolly and Ms. Nancy, the housekeepers in your hallway.

Hopefully we'll see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Our family (2 adults,2 young kids) stayed here last week and really enjoyed our time. The place is very comfy and quaint. Rooms were very clean and great sizes. Pool area was not super huge but fitting for size of resort. Pool and grounds covered in lusch greenery and beautiful flowers! The kids loved the horses right next to our car. Breakfast was yummy. The staff was welcoming from our very first phone call all the way to our checkout when they told us we wish we could havd stayed longer. :) thanks Refuge Inn.....we had a really nice time. :)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank esfrigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We hope you and your family will return to our little slice of paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just came home after 5 nights at the the Refuge inn. It is lovely, clean, comfortable and right near Assateague Island. The location is the best on the island. The beach at Assateague is spectacular. The Marsh Walk should not be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you both again soon here at the Refuge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Refuge Inn was a wonderful experience. We booked our family reunion, of about 25 people, to stay at this location. The rooms had plenty of space, and were nicely decorated (a few of the rooms have not been updated, but I believe they are slowly working on updating all of them). The bathroom had a pedestal sink and wainscoting, and there was crown moulding around the room. Very nicely done. You can stay on the side overlooking the ponies (recommended), or the pool/grassy side. We stayed on the pony side and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The hotel gives kids a free bag of pony food to feed the ponies, which was a big hit, for sure. Although it looks onto the parking lot as well, it didn't matter. Because we had rented so many rooms, we were also given the use of their conference room, at the back of the Inn. It was perfect for 25-30 people, and it included a fridge, stove, sink, and microwave. There was also a small "patio" off of the conference room, which was very nice. The staff, especially the cleaning ladies, were especially friendly and helpful! Breakfast was served each morning to include OJ, coffee, water, hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins/bagels, etc, and they rotated between waffles and french toast. It was nothing to write home about, but it was free, and tasted fine. The only negative I would mention is that although my kids absolutely loved the pool, it did have quite a bit of chemicals in it and their eyes were burning almost the second they jumped in. I would definitely stay here again - it was a great time!

Room Tip: Stay on the pony side!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mstockman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review. We enjoyed having your family here and hope you'll all return for your next reunion! We apologize for the pool chemicals-- we do test and adjust the levels twice daily, but achieving the perfect balance is a challenge (especially in the summer, when guests often enter the pool with bug spray, sunscreen, etc.) I've passed your comments on to the maintenance staff who treat the pool water.

All of us here at the Refuge Inn hope you'll return to the Refuge Inn the next time you're visiting Chincoteague. Thanks, and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Feels like coming home after a long ride. Hot waffles in the morning and a bicycle at my door. Answers to all of my questions served with a smile. The ponies are friendly and the pool is warm. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for the awesome review! Come visit our little slice of paradise again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews