We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only A Stone's Throw To Refuge”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pictures are particularly good to share this refuge's refuge with you, but here are some phrases to help: Great Location - Welcoming atmosphere & rooms - Great Staff - Old Fashion but well kept up - CLEAN! - Pretty, tropical themed pool (& it's heated!) - Pony Petting just a short walk across their parking lot - a few GLUTEN FREE options for breakfast.

This is one hotel that is actually better than its website might indicate to you. BUT, if you want bright and shiny, go to one of Neese 39's "big-box" hotels. This is, as it says, an Island Refuge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeronGal-query
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Refuge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 980 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Refuge Inn is perfect for its location and accommodations. It is steps from the Chincoteague Museum, bike rental and restaurants. The pool was clean and had plenty of lounge chairs. The rooms were spacious and neat. The breakfast was great. There were plenty of options to choose from. The staff working at the hotel are friendly and pleasant. We will definitely put this on our list of great vacation places!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyc580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Chincoteague, and at first I was dismayed that there were larger, newer hotels across the street. But I must admit that as our week progressed, we came to appreciate the charms of the Inn, versus the 'big-box" national hotel chains. We stayed in room 210, a King Deluxe on the second floor. There is no elevator, but we didn't mind the exercise. The room was nicely decorated and furnished. Each room has unique decor, as we noticed while housekeepers had doors open. We had a small balcony with two chairs, but a small table would have been nice for our drinks. The bathroom was on the small size (the width of a tub) but we soon learned to cooperate and work around that. The exhaust fan actually worked, and the heat lamp was a nice touch. The room had a coffeemaker, a small fridge, round table with two chairs, two dressers, nice lighting and an older tube TV with cable and a DVD player. We noticed flat screens in many of the other rooms, so perhaps they are upgrading gradually. The best thing; the bed was Sooo comfortable. We have a tempur-pedic at home, but this mattress was wonderful. TV was best viewed from the aforementioned comfy bed, since the couch was perpendicular to the TV, which made for an awkward angle. A quiet A/C unit kept the room comfortable.
Ice, vending machines, a microwave, and guest laundry were located on each floor.
Breakfast each morning was more than adequate. We typically have only cereal at home, so the nice variety of breads, yummy homemade waffles (3 out of 6 mornings) and scrambled eggs, along with yogurt, and some fruit and juices, and hot tea, coffee, and hot chocolate were plenty to get us going for the day. Being a New Englander I was not used to table syrup (only real maple syrup will do) so be warned and bring your own if you can identify.
We ventured to the Assateague shore, of course (week pass is $15.00), and used the Inn as a base to explore along the coast (village of Onancock), Wallops Flight facility, and the charms of Chincoteague. Don't miss the museum of Chincoteague down the street, it is very well done. Bring bug spray if you plan to hike the woods. Bugs are not bad on the beach due to the breeze. The Wildlife Tour offered from the visitor center is worth the $12.00, it takes you on access roads through the Assateague preserve not open to the public.
There is a corral next to one side of the Inn, with a mare and four foals. They are lovely to look at and feed. The pool area is very nice, but too often loud children doing cannonballs foiled any attempts at relaxation there. But that is what the beach is for, a five minute drive. The breakfast room was also a gift shop, so I found myself browsing while eating. Prices were reasonable.
The front desk staff, breakfast staff, and housekeeping were all friendly, professional, and very helpful. There is a sense of community here, We had a wonderful week and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Soaking tub is nothing special, just a deeper regular tub. First floor rooms on parking lot side ha...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neese39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I just loved this place. It's a great place to stay while you're on Chincoteague. The staff couldn't be nicer. Even though we hadn't mentioned our AAA card when we made the reservation, when they saw our AAA Visa, they said, 'Oh, you get a discount.' It was quite nice. And they seem to be the only inn/hotel on the island that has ponies. You have to go to Assateaque to see the ponies, and there's no guarantee that they'll be where you are. The continental breakfast was fine; it's enough to get to going and out the door to start your day. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Refuge Inn. Great location, just a bike ride across the bridge to Asseteague Island. Very quiet and comfortable. Pool is half indoor/half outdoor which was fun for our granddaughter. She loved the ponies too. Rooms were clean with sliding door to adirondack chairs which were very comfortable to relax with a good book. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we visit the USA we do like small motels that are done well; and this is. The Refuge has really great staff who are so friendly,(even when I managed to catapult a full cup of coffee across the reception area and door it was treated as the highlight of the reception staff's day!). The rooms are nice and comfortable. The place has a nice pool and is located perfectly for Assateague; the main reason for coming. If you are after boutique or excessive luxury rooms then this probably is not you. If you want well located, friendly very good quality and clean then this is a great place. I loved Chincoteague and Assateague, little gems. Breakfast was included and was a limited choice but reasonable quality continental. Seating is limited but it made it all quite fun.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel's website. We booked direct.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

You can't beat the Refuge Inn for quality and price on a touristy destination such as this. Much better than a chain hotel, The Refuge Inn gives you a lovely, clean, comfortable room for at least a third to a half less than the chains. Garden-like environment with a pony corral right next door. Pool (half indoor, half outdoor) and hot tub were very popular spots for my family. Wish the breakfast had more variety. Of the 4 days I was there, 2 had waffles and 2 had scrambled eggs. Would have liked to have had pancakes, French toast, etc. I would definitely return here for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronxboy559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing