We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and accomodations”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First-time customer for a long weekend after Labor Day. We not be staying anywhere else going forward. We had a nice, quiet and relaxing visit and the location was perfect. The only bad part was the mosquitoes, but that was not anything under their control. Perfect place for families or couples to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time staying here,highly recommended,have Spa pool outside upper deck,close to everything,breakfast was contanental ,yesterday was eggs today had them making waffles.Will be back next time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 136 in back no rooms above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family's first "mini" vacation with our 4 and 6 year old was spent at Chincoteage Island, calling The Refuge Inn "home" for a few days. After my father's death a month prior, I needed a place of refuge and The Refuge Inn certainly delivered. The staff was incredible, accommodating and friendly. The grounds and the room were very clean and lacked the typical sticky, moist and mildewy smell and feel of most beach hotels. My kids couldn't decide if they liked the beach or the delightfully simple and uncrowded pool better! The breakfast had something for everyone (and we are vegetarians!) and even my picky daughter had ample choices that were healthy AND kid-friendly. My husband's family used to stay here when he was a kid, so the feeling of familiarity and carrying on tradition was special for us and he said the updates completed since he was last there were wonderfully done. Can't wait to return! My thanks to the staff for taking hospitality seriously!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Refuge Inn on Labor day weekend - great location, quaint atmosphere and friendly staff. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were -spacious, clean and fairly modern. Bathroom is on the small side but nice. Has coffee pot/counter area and small refrigerator. We were on the second floor - which is nice and quiet, but it is all stairs to lug your suitcases up. The downstairs units have the sliding doors right out to a patio - which is out to parking lot so would be much easier for packing/unpacking car. As far as view - there really is not much to see other than the pony pen - which is one side of the building, which could be seen from just about any room, and the other side of the buiding is just a wooded lot. The entire property is smoke free - but you can walk across by the pony pen and sit at one of the picnic tables.
Continental breakfast daily - your basic breads, cereal, coffees/tea - and one hot choice each morning - french toast, waffle and scrambled eggs were the choices when we were there. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating - even provide trays if you prefer to dine in your room.
The propery sits just outside the Refuge/Asseteague park entrances - easy bike or scooter ride - or less than 5 minute drive in a car. We preferred this end of the island to up by the Main street - as with all the cars and people over the weekend we really didnt have to deal with it. There are multiple places to pick up sundries and supplies within walking distance, a few places to eat, a gas station and a small cafe with a bar right across the street.

Room Tip: Not much views from any room other than the pony pen....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed here sev. times over the past 14 years. Although I started out with a couple of other
hotels on Chincoteague Island. This is the only one for me now!
As soon as you see this place you just know it's different. Great pines surround the building
giving it a more private feel. The Chincoteague ponies are just next to the parking lot, with machines holding food to feed them with.
The rooms are beautiful, and the cleanest place I've ever stayed in. For alone time their is a deck on top of the roof if you want to share a more private breakfast. With good breakfast options, they also offer everyone a home-made specialty each day.
A tasteful gift shop open till 10:00 PM.
At the very back there is a small wooded deck that looks out over the marsh.
I happen to come here for bird-watching, but it doesn't matter why you come.
Family owned with all the staff you meet having a pleasantry for you
One of the closest hotels to the refuge/beach.

Room Tip: I usually prefer the upper floor as I like to wake up early. It is great how quiet the a/c is. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbHNorristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As a residence of Virginia for 35 years, It was our first visit to Chincoteague Island Virginia. We stayed in room 102 Queen Room Delux versus a regular Queen Room. I don't know what the difference is since we didn't see any of the other rooms. You can also request to be next or near the swimming pool which was beautiful. Our room backed to pine trees on the first floor.

We will be back and we might request to be closer to the pool.

Refuge Motor Inn. excellent friendly and professional staff. Clean rooms, clean grounds, great continental breakfast.

Every single staff member we encountered was professional and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheThreeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in August for a 3-night long weekend stay with my mom and sister. My first visit to Chincoteague and to Refuge Inn. Terrific value and great location because of its proximity to the beach. A family-owned inn, these are not your typical sandy, worn, sterile beach hotel rooms. Our room (double queen deluxe) had a very warm feel with decorator touches (upgraded shams, bedskirt, and bedframes). The room was CLEAN. Way cleaner than hotels that charge much more (nothing I had to overlook because that's just how most hotels are). The room had a small, but adequate fridge/coffeemaker area (tip about the fridge: it may be unplugged when you arrive). Big enough if you wanted to make sandwiches, for example, to take to the beach. I thought the staff was very friendly. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 - 10:00 (or thereabouts). 8:15 - 9:15 seemed to be the very busiest time - expect a line and no available tables (tip: go early/late or ask other guests to join them at their table; or, there are trays to take food back to your room - ours had a table and 2 chairs). This is a deluxe continental breakfast - not a full, hot breakfast. There is a hot item each day, plus cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit of some kind or another, toast/bread items (plus PB&J), and one morning included yogurt. A decent, all-you-can eat selection. Hotel has 2 floors - odd numbered rooms face the parking lot and pony stable; even numbered rooms face a green/wooded lot and picnic tables; about 20 rooms per hallway, so minimal noise. Our room (101) was on the ground floor, right next to the door leading to the entry and ice machine, but to my pleasant surprise no noise or light pollution (only noise I heard was in the bathroom, perhaps from the room upstairs because of the fan vent?). In all, a surprisingly convenient spot. Guests included families and couples (both young and old). Pool is a neat design - partly outdoors (covered in fall/winter/spring) and partly indoors. Spa/hot tub is adults only and gated (so private but not in an off-putting way), located in the covered pool area. Tried both, which were well maintained. Pool towels can be a bit tricky (can run out, probably because of folks hording them in their rooms). But, you're at the beach, so should have your own towel anyway (which you can hang out to dry, undisturbed, on your patio/balcony). So relaxing, comfortable, clean, and a great value that I cancelled my trip to the OC Hilton during Labor Day week to return to the Refuge Inn with my husband (hopefully one of many trips to come).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plpesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $93 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing