We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a 'Mom & Pop'”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2007

I stayed at the Refuge in July right after Pony swim week. I was a little leary of staying in an independant hotel as I work in the hotel industry and usually "mom & pops" are not too nice. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel! The staff was great, my room was HUGE and although the furniture was little dated it was very very clean. It is odd for me to write a review and not complain about the hotel's cleanliness but this was one of the cleanest hotels that was not a 5 star property that I have ever been to. They also had a great continental breakfast and a very nice gift shop. I will more than likely stay here every time I am on the island!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

Stayed at the Refuge for three nights. I was expecting more of an Inn, the Refuge really reminded me of a motor lodge that had upgraded rooms. My husband and I did enjoy our time here on the island and think it made the weekend more unique. We had a Deluxe room, it was nicely decorated and comfortable. Sizing was nice, we carry a lot of luggage and were able to tuck the bags into corners of the room to get them out of the way. We really enjoyed the rooftop deck, had wine up there the first night. Unfortunately our deck looked out over the pool roof.

The pool was nice, hot tub was okay, but the combination of both made the stay really relaxing.

They have a bike shop and small pony pasture on the other side of the inn parking lot. Any bikes that you bring need to be kept outside on the racks. This inn is close enough to bike to Main Street and the seashore.

I agree with the previous posting about the breakfast, it's a very small space and it's like a free-for-all at the serving area. Bagels, waffles, fruit, muffins, danish, english muffins, coffee, tea and juice. Overall, the Refuge Inn was nice, I'll give it a thumbs-up for the room design, the pool, rooftop deck, the ponies and closeness to the state park.

When we were out and about on the island we popped into the Hampton Inn on Main, the breakfast area there was very large and looked right out on the water. If we would go back to the island, I'd probably book a room there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sensitiveartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. Most rooms have two queen beds. It's not cheap, though - $100 - during off season weekends. The included continental breakfast was probably the worst I've had in a hotel. First, there are only about 5 tables to sit at. Although it's off season, there were about 10 different families in the breakfast area - extremely crowded, long lines to get food (food is layed out in a very small area), and no place to sit. The food was also mediocre at best. There was a waffle iron, but it kept burning everyone's waffles. I'd stay here again in a pinch. During off season, there's only one place Don's something open for lunch and it wasn't very good. For dinner, however, AJ's on the Creek was excellent - nice atmosphere, fresh seafood, reasonably priced wine, and delicious desserts. Be sure to make a reservation, though. It was packed on Saturday night and some people waited for 2 hours to get in. There aren't many other places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

An excellent atmospheric hotel in a great location. We will return without doubt. Relaxed atmosphere and excellent room. Free breakfast was very good too. Only one quibble...the water was not really hot enough in reception to make good tea in the afternoon, but the coffee was fine and always on tap.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JennyWrenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Telephoned them on Monday, September 17th to book a suite for Friday, September 21st and Saturday, September 23rd.
They told me that a suite was available but only for a three night booking. That was fair enough so I decided to book a double room for the two nights I would be in the US and then would change to the suite, if it were still available when I checked in, and of course pay the difference. The reservation woman was adamant that, even though I would be moving to a suite and paying full fare for it, because I had effectively cancelled my double room booking, by upgrading to a suite within their forty eight hour cancellation period, I would be liable to pay for the double room as well as for the suite.
I did query this convoluted logic at some length but found it quite as perplexing to unravel as the English translation of the penninsula from which it emanated so did not bother to stay there at all.

Stayed: September 2007
9  Thank roderigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This was a great place to stay with our kids. My husband and I were both very impressed by the staff of the hotel and the bike depot next door. When my daughter accidentally locked us out of our room the front desk staff very graciously let us back in with a smile and never seemed bothered or annoyed by our adventurous children. The front desk staff also helped us with dinner reservations our first night on the island. Although the hotel is a little pricey it was worth the few extra dollars. The rooms were clean and well kept as was the lobby and hallways.
The free breakfast was enjoyable as well. The variety for a continental breakfast was excellent!
We plan to stay here every chance we get to visit the island!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallnfiesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Excellent location and facilities; a cut above the rest of Chicoteague accommodations; staff very professional and helpful; quiet, green location. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpj008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $93 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing