We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New location same ridiculously delicious lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Star Cafe

Sea Star Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea Star Cafe Gourmet Carry Out is locally owned and operated! We opened on Main Street in 2000 and moved to our new location on Maddox Blvd. in 2013. Serving gourmet sandwiches, fresh salads, vegetarian & vegan fare as well as homemade soups, sides and baked goods. All of our food is MADE FRESH to ORDER by the 2 OWNERS..... everyday all the time! Our soups, sauces, hummus, baked goods etc. are made by us right here! We intended Sea Star to be carryout but do have some outdoor seating limited to 3 picnic tables. Check us out! CALL FOR HOURS!
Chincoteague
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New location same ridiculously delicious lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The sea star has long been a favorite spot for my wife and I. They have a great selection of wraps and sandwiches that are fresh and healthy. Try them and you are sure to keep going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gryphon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    107
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

awesome real food, fresh ingredients, good for both meat eaters and vegetarians, we always stop at the Sea Star when we are visiting Chincoteague. They have moved to a new location on Maddox Blvd.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BnB_Time_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“These sandwiches are outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had the Zorba Pita and the Brazilian Black Bean Soup. After 2 days of rich seafood, a little vegetarian food seemed like it would do me good.
The Brazilian Black Bean Soup was rich and complex, simply full of flavor. The Zorba is just delicious with feta cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers and just drenched in a great vinaigrette dressing. I was searching for crumbs of feta to stack in my fork with a chunk of cucumber for just one more bite by the end of the sandwich.
There are two problems with the Sea Star. The first is simply finding the place. It is tucked back from the road and they haven't gotten their sign out far enough yet. But it is opposite the Subway shop on Maddox, and tucked back away from the road. The second problem is a great problem to have. Simply choosing which sandwich to try took me around 5 minutes. They have a great selection to choose from.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZivBnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
799 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“New Location, Same Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Hmm, eating my big, delicious, creative sandwich on the shore of a pond is a simple pleasure. All the sandwiches are unique plus you can create your own. I have not eaten a wrap or salad yet, but hear that is ALL GREAT.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOL --They moved to another 'not easy to find' location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Luckily their sandwiches and teas are worth looking for their new location! Now they are on the north side of Maddox Blvd which is the road that goes from the new bridge to the beach, so it will be a great place to stop to grab your beach picnic if you don't want to do any beach grilling which we do sometimes. But we always keep a cooler with drinks in the trunk 'cause you can't even find a soda on Assateague. I like their breads and almost always get turkey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Star Cafe also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Sea Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing