We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions!”

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big portions!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner, the wait staff was very friendly and the atmosphere very family friendly. The food portions are huge, so come hungry! Great value for the money, most meals could be shared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    79
    62
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast good price”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on our way out of town after a week long vacation. Ordered blueberry pancakes for $4.50 and a side of bacon for $2. So much food. Couldn't even finish it though I tried. Blueberries were plentiful and juicy. My only complaint was that I found the coffee to be extremely weak. Service was very friendly. Appreciated the huge cup of ice water. Loved the Beatles decor. Very casual, down home, unique atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great food from an unlikely shack”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We decided to stop here for lunch after a recommendation from a road trip book (which actually highlighted the great breakfasts you can find here). So glad we did. Although the building is a bit like a ramshackle shack, and the interior is characterized by all sorts of Beatles' memorobila, the food is superb. Diner fare at its very best. The fried flounder fish sandwich was hot and fresh and the service was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here and it was great. My younger son had a grilled cheese kids meal with lots of fries--a great value for the money. My other son had a handmade cheeseburger from the regular menu that he rates as good and juicy. I had the Asian salad, which had lots of greens, canned Mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, and Chinese noodles with raspberry vinaigrette dressing. It was great, with the notable exception of the noodles, which were stale. All in all, a great place to take the kids, especially if you like the Beatles, as the owner has Beatles memorabilia all over the back wall. Great conversation starters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Careymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Start the day off right!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My mornings started early. I would grab a snack from the hotel, and head to the beach for pictures. When done I head to Mr. Baldy's. The staff are so gracious and friendly. The food is plentiful and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chickwdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing