We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definately a craver!”

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
“definately a craver!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went to baldy's with my husband and my parents. They just relocated to the island. We stopped at a few restaurants during our stay and all were lovely but Mr. baldy's caught the attention of our taste buds. it was slow but we came around 4 so no big deal. The waitress recommended the reuben. best reuben i have ever had! My husband got prime rib. Cooked just right and the portions were nice aswell plus you get sides. We shared a bowl of the crab soup and ended up coming back the day we left to order some pints of it to take home with us! Can't wait to visit my parents again and to come to mr. baldy's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    58
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Canned vegetables in August?”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were looking for a new place to eat on the island, so we wound up here. We won't wind up here ever again. The meatloaf was overly processed and the vegetables were canned. In the middle of fresh produce season. My son's BLT had hot house tomatoes on it, while plenty of fresh local tomatoes are readily available.
Service was okay, atmosphere mediocre. Food was awful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not spectacular atmosphere or food but a solid lunch place. My husband ordered the pulled pork sandwich and he wasn't thrilled. I ordered the Reuben and it was delicious. (on that sandwich, I'd rate five stars!)

Small place, little run down, staff was neither friendly nor rude but got the job done. I'd go again for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FtWashGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwood new jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a bad experience elswere and ended up at mr baldys,what a place it was like eating a grandmas...great home cooking

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank flipperup67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The food was very good - -I got a great salad and nice broiled flounder. Good dinner for my kids and vegetarian husband, too! Great eggplant! Nice people, like everywhere on the Island. Kind service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing